Leimer eases to victory in Bahrain

By on Saturday, April 20, 2013

GP2 Media Service

Fabio Leimer took victory after dominating the GP2 Feature race in Bahrain.

Leimer led from pole position and maintained a comfortable gap throughout the race to Stefano Coletti.

Alexander Rossi claimed a podium on his debut for Caterham, ahead of a charging Felipe Nasr.

Nasr's Carlin team-mate Joylon Palmer finished fifth, with Sam Bird in sixth. Bird rocketed from ninth to third at the first corner but slipped back as the race progressed.

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs took seventh and Tom Dillmann finished in eighth to secure pole position for the Sprint race.

Reigning Formula Renault 3.5 Series champion Robin Frijns made his debut but clumsily clattered into DAMS's Stephane Richelmi, with both dropping to the back of the field.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.

On this day
  • Fernando Alonso won the 2005 European Grand Prix.
  • Stirling Moss won the 1960 Monaco Grand Prix.
  • Alain Prost won the 1988 Mexican Grand Prix.
  • Damon Hill won the 1994 Spanish Grand Prix.
  • Sebastian Vettel won the 2011 Monaco Grand Prix.