Latest 2014 driver line-up

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

19 drivers have now been confirmed for the 2014 Formula 1 season...

Infiniti Red Bull Racing

Red Bull/Getty Images

Red Bull/Getty Images

World champion Sebastian Vettel remains with the team for a sixth season and he is joined by Australian driver Daniel Ricciardo, who has raced for Toro Rosso since the start of 2012. Red Bull has opted to employ two test drivers as Antonio Felix da Costa will dovetail his DTM commitments alongside former F1 driver Sebastien Buemi.

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes is the only top team to retain both drivers into 2014 as Nico Rosberg stays on for a fifth year while Lewis Hamilton gears up for his second season with the Silver Arrows.

Scuderia Ferrari

Fernando Alonso – who is set to use #14 next season – remains with the team for a fifth season and he is joined by Kimi Räikkönen. The Finn raced for the team between 2007 and 2009, claiming his sole title in his first year with the Scuderia.

Lotus F1 Team

Lotus F1 Team

Lotus F1 Team

Lotus lost Räikkönen and financial constraints meant that they opted to sign Pastor Maldonado, who arrives at Enstone with a healthy amount of backing. The much improved Romain Grosjean remains with Lotus for a third successive year.

McLaren Mercedes

2009 world champion Jenson Button continues with McLaren for a fifth year as he prepares for his 250th start in the sport. He is joined by Formula Renault 3.5 Series champion Kevin Magnussen. A new title sponsor – to replace Vodafone – is expected to be announced at the launch of the new car.

Sahara Force India

For the first time since 2004-5, the Silverstone based team enters a new season with a completely changed line-up. Nico Hülkenberg returns ‘home’ to the squad which he raced for in 2012, having raced for Sauber in 2013. McLaren refugee Sergio Pérez will race alongside Hülkenberg.

Sauber F1 Team

Sauber F1 Team

Sauber F1 Team

Adrian Sutil will move teams for the first time in his career as he joins Sauber from Force India and has already visited the team’s factory in Hinwil for a seat fitting. Esteban Gutiérrez remains with Sauber, largely thanks to continued backing from sponsor Telmex, while Russian driver Sergey Sirotkin becomes their test driver. Sirotkin is still being prepared by the team for his Formula 1 debut but will race in Formula Renault 3.5 again in 2014.

Scuderia Toro Rosso

Jean-Eric Vergne remains for a third season, while he is joined by GP3 champion Daniil Kvyat. Red Bull revealed this week that they will back only three young drivers in 2014: Carlos Sainz Jr, Alex Lynn and Pierre Gasly, so those three are ones to watch for the future.

Williams F1 Team

Maldonado wanted a better team than Williams and the feeling was mutual, so after three years their partnership ends and in comes Ferrari stalwart Felipe Massa. Finnish driver Valtteri Bottas remains with Williams for his second season in the sport.

Marussia F1 Team

Ferrari protégé Jules Bianchi has been confirmed while Marussia team principal John Booth says his squad is ‘very close’ to retaining Max Chilton for his second attempt.

Caterham F1 Team

Caterham is the only team yet to confirm a single driver and therefore have the advantage of a bidding war between drivers. Kamui Kobayashi was spotted at the team recently, while GP2 driver Marcus Ericsson has been in discussions for several weeks. 2013 driver Giedo van der Garde expects to remain in the sport but Charles Pic’s prospects appear slim.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.