Super licence points system revised

By on Friday, July 10, 2015
Red Bull/Getty Images

Red Bull/Getty Images

The FIA has revised its nascent super licence points system, which will be introduced ahead of the 2016 season.

Earlier this year the FIA announced that in order to qualify for a super licence, drivers would have to rack up 40 points across their most recent three seasons in motorsport categories.

This was primarily in reaction to Max Verstappen's rapid ascent to Formula 1 at the age of 17, following just one season of Formula 3.

An initial list suggested that the proposed F2 championship would reward 60 points to the champion, while the winner of the GP2 crown would earn 50 points.

A revised list was published on Friday, with the victors of the proposed F2 championship, GP2, F3, the World Endurance Championship (LMP1) and IndyCar all awarded 40 points.

The champion in Formula Renault 3.5, the series won by Carlos Sainz Jr. in 2014, will receive 35 points, with the GP3 champion taking 30 points.

Japanese Super Formula (worth 25 points), the World Touring Car Championship, DTM and IndyLights (15 points) have all been recognised.

Formula 4 and the senior category of karting will also have super licence points on offer.

The Formula E champion will also be rewarded with a super licence, even though the series is not part of the points system.

The minimum age limit to compete in Formula 1 remains 18 - as it was when it was introduced after Verstappen's debut - though drivers will now keep their points for three years if they are testing in Formula 1.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.