Webber and KERS end Vettel's pole run

By on Saturday, May 21, 2011

Mark Webber broke his teammate Sebastian Vettel's run of pole positions on Saturday, after impressive earlier practice pace at the scene of his win a year ago.

But it emerged shortly after the qualifying session in Barcelona that while the energy-recovery system was working on the Australian's dominant RB7, the one aboard Vettel's did not work in Q2 and Q3.

"It's not right to say that's why Mark got pole -- he deserved it," insisted Vettel.

"We had some problems but Mark did a good job. He did a better job today. I'm sure we will have it (KERS) tomorrow," he added.

Lewis Hamilton starts from third, but he thinks the gap between Red Bull and McLaren has only widened in Spain. Worse still, he flat-spotted the set of soft Pirelli tyres he must start Sunday's race with.

"Fortunately we can rebalance the wheels (for the race) so it shouldn't be a problem," said the Briton.

Pos  Driver                Team                 Time            Gap   
 1.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault     1m20.981s
 2.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault     1m21.181s   + 0.200
 3.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes     1m21.961s   + 0.980
 4.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari              1m21.964s   + 0.983
 5.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes     1m21.996s   + 1.015
 6.  Vitaly Petrov         Renault              1m22.471s   + 1.490
 7.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes             1m22.599s   + 1.618
 8.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari              1m22.888s   + 1.907
 9.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Cosworth    1m22.952s   + 1.971
10.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes
Q3 cut-off time: 1m23.506s                                   Gap **
11.  Sebastien Buemi       Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1m23.231s   + 1.691
12.  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari       1m23.367s   + 1.827
13.  Jaime Alguersuari     Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1m23.694s   + 2.154
14.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari       1m23.702s   + 2.162
15.  Heikki Kovalainen     Lotus-Renault        1m25.403s   + 3.863
16.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercede  1m26.126s   + 4.586
17.  Adrian Sutil          Force India-Mercede  1m26.571s   + 5.031
Q3 cut-off time: 1m25.874s                                    Gap *
18.  Jarno Trulli          Lotus-Renault        1m26.521s   + 3.561
19.  Rubens Barrichello    Williams-Cosworth    1m26.910s   + 3.950
20.  Timo Glock            Virgin-Cosworth      1m27.315s   + 4.355
21.  Tonio Liuzzi          HRT-Cosworth         1m27.809s   + 4.849
22.  Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth         1m27.908s   + 4.948
23.  Jerome D'Ambrosio     Virgin-Cosworth      1m28.556s   + 5.596
24.  Nick Heidfeld         Renault              No time

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.