Vettel wins prestigious Laureus award

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Red Bull/Getty Images

Red Bull/Getty Images

Reigning World Champion Sebastian Vettel has won the prestigious Laureus Sportsman of the Year award at a cermony in Kuala Lumpur.

Vettel has been nominated every year since 2011 for his achievements in Formula 1 but the award was the first time the German has picked up the overall honour.

"It's one of the most special awards I have received," he said.

Vettel fended off competition from Usain Bolt, Mo Farah, LeBron James, Rafael Nadal and Cristiano Ronaldo to claim the award.

Vettel took 13 wins on his way to his fourth world championship in 2013.

Red Bull was nominated for the team of the year but missed out as the award went to Bayern Munich, who wrapped up the Bundesliga title in record time on Tuesday.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.

On this day
  • Jochen Rindt won the 1970 French Grand Prix.
  • Alain Prost won the 1981 French Grand Prix.
  • Nigel Mansell won the 1987 French Grand Prix.
  • Mike Hawthorn won the 1953 French Grand Prix.
  • Tony Brooks won the 1959 French Grand Prix.
  • Nigel Mansell won the 1992 French Grand Prix.