Vettel takes Spa pole

By on Saturday, August 27, 2011

Reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel will line up at the front of the field tomorrow after taking his ninth pole position of the season.

Vettel, 24, set a lap of 1m48.298 during the dying moments of Q3 to deny Lewis Hamilton. Mark Webber and Felipe Massa complete the second row.

As track conditions rapidly improved in Q2, Hamilton banged wheels with Pastor Maldonado going through the Bus Stop chicane as the McLaren completed a flying lap and Maldonado ignored blue flags. It was still quick enough to make Hamilton fastest at the time, but Maldonado appeared to retaliate for the contact on the run out of La Source on their slowing-down laps, sideswiping the McLaren, which then needed minor impromptu repairs for Q3.

Hungary winner Jenson Button was eliminated in Q2 after a misunderstanding, whilst a similar situation befell Paul di Resta at the end of Q1, allowing Heikki Kovalainen to qualify 17th.

Michael Schumacher lost a wheel exiting Malmedy and spun into the barriers, curtailing his session before it begun, whilst Adrian Sutil dropped a wheel on the exit of Raidillon, bringing out the red flag for debris during Q2.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap 
 1.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault     1m48.298s
 2.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes     1m48.730s   + 0.432
 3.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault     1m49.376s   + 1.078
 4.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari              1m50.256s   + 1.958
 5.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes             1m50.552s   + 2.254
 6.  Jaime Alguersuari     Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1m50.773s   + 2.475 
 7.  Bruno Senna           Renault              1m51.121s   + 2.823
 8.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari              1m51.251s   + 2.953
 9.  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari       1m51.374s   + 3.076
10.  Vitaly Petrov         Renault              1m52.303s   + 4.005
Q2 cut-off time: 2m04.625s Gap **
11.  Sebastien Buemi       Toro Rosso-Ferrari   2m04.692s   + 1.924
12.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari       2m04.757s   + 1.989
13.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes     2m05.150s   + 2.382
14.  Rubens Barrichello    Williams-Cosworth    2m07.349s   + 4.581
15.  Adrian Sutil          Force India-Mercedes 2m07.777s   + 5.009
16.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Cosworth    2m08.106s   + 5.338
17.  Heikki Kovalainen     Lotus-Renault        2m08.354s   + 5.586
Q1 cut-off time: 2m07.194s Gap *
18.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes 2m07.758s   + 5.945
19.  Jarno Trulli          Lotus-Renault        2m07.773s   + 5.960
20.  Timo Glock            Virgin-Cosworth      2m09.566s   + 7.753
21.  Jerome D'Ambrosio     Virgin-Cosworth      2m11.601s   + 9.788
22.  Tonio Liuzzi          HRT-Cosworth         2m11.616s   + 9.803
23.  Daniel Ricciardo      HRT-Cosworth         2m13.077s  + 11.264
24.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes             no time

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.