Vettel, Red Bull nominated for Laureus awards

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Red Bull/Getty Images

Red Bull/Getty Images

Reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel has been nominated for the 2014 Laureus World Sportman of the year award.

The award is handed out annually to an outstanding sportsman from the previous year.

Vettel is up against athletes Usain Bolt and Mo Farah, as well as Basketball star LeBron James, tennis world number one Rafael Nadal and footballer Cristiano Ronaldo.

The awards, introduced in 2000, have twice been won by Michael Schumacher, in 2002 and 2004.

The team with which Vettel races, Red Bull, has also been nominated in the 2014 awards.

The Milton Keynes based team are up for the World Team of the year.

Red Bull will face competition from the All Blacks, Bayern Munich, Brazil's men's football team, Bob & Mike Bryan and Miami Heat.

The awards will be held in Kuala Lumpur on March 26.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.

On this day
  • Peter Collins won the 1956 French Grand Prix.
  • Jean-Pierre Jabouille won the 1979 French Grand Prix.
  • Kimi Räikkönen won the 2007 French Grand Prix.
  • Michael Schumacher won the 2001 French Grand Prix.
  • Luigi Fagioli won the 1951 French Grand Prix.
  • Juan Manuel Fangio won the 1951 French Grand Prix.
  • Ronnie Peterson won the 1973 French Grand Prix.