The complete F1 2014 driver line-up

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Caterham's announcement on Tuesday morning means that Formula 1's 2014 line-up has been completed, with 22 drivers from 13 countries comprising this year's grid. Here's a rundown of their drivers set to compete in Formula 1's new era.

Red Bull/Getty Images

Daniel Ricciardo joins the senior team. Red Bull/Getty Images

Infiniti Red Bull Racing

Sebastian Vettel will enter his sixth season with Red Bull Racing as the defending world champion after sweeping up across the past four years. Mark Webber’s decision to retire means that compatriot Daniel Ricciardo is promoted from Toro Rosso after two years with the Italian team. The relaxed in-season testing rules have led Red Bull to retain former STR driver Sebastien Buemi as a test driver and he is joined by Portuguese racer Antonio Felix da Costa. The latter will race for BMW in DTM this year with Red Bull backing.

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes is one of only two teams to retain both of their drivers from 2013 into 2014. Lewis Hamilton will begin his second year with the team, while Nico Rosberg races for the Silver Arrows for a fifth season. Former Force India racer Paul di Resta will return to DTM with Mercedes and may be in line for a reserve role with the team.

Scuderia Ferrari

Ferrari has opted for fire and ice in 2014 as Fernando Alonso is joined at the team by Kimi Räikkönen. Alonso heads into his fifth season with the prancing horse, while Räikkönen returns to the team with which he won his world championship in 2007, before departing at the end of 2009.

Lotus F1 Team

Räikkönen’s move to Ferrari meant that Lotus required a suitable replacement but the financial situation forced the team into acquiring the services of Pastor Maldonado. The Venezuelan driver arrives with PDVSA money, with Lotus insistent that their finances will be improved this year. Maldonado will line-up alongside vastly improved Romain Grosjean, who continues with the team for a third year.

McLaren Mercedes

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes

Kevin Magnussen joins the sport. Vodafone McLaren Mercedes

Jenson Button remains with McLaren for a fifth season as he prepares for his 15th year in Formula 1. He is joined by Formula Renault 3.5 Series champion Kevin Magnussen, who beat fellow McLaren youngster Stoffel Vandoorne to that title.

Sahara Force India

Force India continues its tradition of not retaining the same two drivers in successive season as 2012 race driver Nico Hülkenberg returns to the team. Sergio Pérez moves across from McLaren.

Sauber F1 Team

Adrian Sutil joins the Swiss team after a lengthy stint with Force India, while 2013 racer Esteban Gutiérrez remains for a second season. Russian youngster Sergey Sirotkin remains as test driver and will also race in Formula Renault 3.5. Former Caterham racer Giedo van der Garde joins as test and reserve driver and will get some test and practice outings.

Scuderia Toro Rosso

Red Bull has retained faith in French racer Jean-Eric Vergne, who is given a third season at Toro Rosso. He will be partnered by Russian teenager Daniil Kvyat, who rapidly rose through the ranks by storming to the GP3 championship in 2013.

Williams F1 Team

Maldonado’s relationship with Williams deteriorated but the team came to an agreement with sponsor PDVSA, thus allowing the outfit to sign Ferrari outcast Felipe Massa. The Brazilian is not a pay driver, but the team is hoping to exploit the potentially lucrative market in his home country. Massa will line-up next to Valtteri Bottas, who raced for the team in 2013.

Marussia F1 Team

Marcus Ericsson will make his F1 debut

Marcus Ericsson will make his F1 debut.

Ferrari protégé Jules Bianchi will remain with the team for a second season – this time with the benefit of a full pre-season programme – while reliable rookie Max Chilton also stays on, meaning that Marussia is one of only two teams with the same line-up as 2013.

Caterham F1 Team

Caterham has dispensed with Van der Garde and Charles Pic after a solitary season for both drivers. In their place come Kamui Kobayashi and Marcus Ericsson. Kobayashi returns to the sport after a season in the World Endurance Championship while Ericsson steps up after four years in GP2. Robin Frijns joins Alexander Rossi as a reserve driver.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.