Schumacher fastest, Webber on pole

By on Saturday, May 26, 2012

Michael Shumacher

Michael Schumacher set the fastest time during qualifying for the Monaco Grand Prix but will start sixth following a penalty for previous indiscretions. Schumacher's time of 1:14.301 eclipsed Mark Webber by 0.08s but he won't start from the front after he was penalised for crashing into Bruno Senna during the Spanish Grand Prix.

It means that Webber will lead the way in Monaco for the second time in three years, having blitzed the opposition in 2010. Nico Rosberg lines up second, while Lewis Hamilton continues his strong 2012 form by starting third.

Lotus didn't show the speed they had on Thursday although Romain Grosjean will start from 4th, with Kimi Raikkonen 8th.

Ferrari set the pace in Q2 but ultimately fell short when it mattered. Nevertheless, 5th for Fernando Alonso and 7th for Felipe Massa represents an upturn in fortune for the Italian team.

World champion Sebastian Vettel abandoned his Q3 lap and will line up from ninth. Nico Hulkenberg completes the top ten.

Pastor Maldonado had qualified in ninth but receives a ten place penalty for deliberately driving into Sergio Perez during final practice. His victim in the incident suffered from a mechanical failure during the early stages of Q1. The steering of Perez's Sauber appeared to be broken, pitching him into the barriers at the Swimming Pool chicane. The Mexican will start from a lowly twenty-fourth.

Jenson Button was another high profile scalp to fall early on; the Brit simply didn't have the pace and starts 12th. Jean Eric Vergne was the only other driver to come to grief as he lost control of his STR7 braking for the Nouvelle Chicane.

 1.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes             1m14.301s*
 2.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault     1m14.381s
 3.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes             1m14.448s
 4.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes     1m14.583s
 5.  Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault        1m14.639s
 6.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari              1m14.948s
 7.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari              1m15.049s
 8.  Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault        1m15.199s
 9.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault     1m15.245s**
10.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault     no time
11.  Nico Hulkenberg       Force India-Mercedes 1m15.421s   + 0.510
12.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari       1m15.508s   + 0.597
13.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes     1m15.536s   + 0.625
14.  Bruno Senna           Williams-Renault     1m15.709s   + 0.798
15.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes 1m15.718s   + 0.807
16.  Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1m15.878s   + 0.967
17.  Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1m16.885s   + 1.974
18.  Heikki Kovalainen     Caterham-Renault     1m16.538s   + 1.120
19.  Vitaly Petrov         Caterham-Renault     1m17.404s   + 1.986
20.  Timo Glock            Marussia-Cosworth    1m17.947s   + 2.529
21.  Pedro de la Rosa      HRT-Cosworth         1m18.096s   + 2.678
22.  Charles Pic           Marussia-Cosworth    1m18.476s   + 3.058
23.  Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth         1m19.310s   + 3.892
24.  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari       no time
*5 place penalty
*10 place penalty

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.