Schumacher fastest on day 2 in Jerez

By on Wednesday, February 8, 2012


Michael Schumacher topped the timing screens after the second day of winter testing in Jerez, Mark Webber was the quickest of the new 2012 cars. Mercedes have decided not to bring the new car until the second test allowing them time to evaluate the new Pirelli tyres, they are allowed to use the Soft, Medium and Hard compounds at this test.

Daniel Ricciardo had a good session in the Toro Rosso completing 100 laps with his fastest time of 1:19.587 over one second behind his fellow Australian. The most laps completed today was by Heikki Kovalainen in the Caterham with a impressive 139 laps, Mike Gascoyne via twitter said “Really good day of testing today, 139 laps and lots of long runs on the tyres. Also very succesful first day with KERS on the car”. This is the first time they have run KERS but Heikki has used it before in 2009 when he was at Mclaren.

Jules Bianchi the new reserve driver at Force India got his outing in the new VJM05 and set a time of 1:20.221 before handing it over to Paul di Resta for the evening session.

Kimi Raikkonen after his impressive day yesterday topping the timing screen, just got the laps in today putting in 117 laps. He did have a trip into the gravel early on in the session. This meant that Lotus decided to change the plank under the car and the steering rack as it did not feel right after going out for another run.

Mclaren and Ferrari seem to be in the middle of the pack at the moment just learning about the new cars, not really putting in anything impressive so far. Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso will be in the cars tomorrow making sure they are comfortable with the setup and learning about the new car.

Final Times

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
 1.  Michael Schumacher   Mercedes       1m18.561s           132
 2.  Mark Webber          Red Bull       1m19.184s  + 0.623   97
 3.  Daniel Ricciardo     Toro Rosso     1m19.587s  + 1.026  100
 4.  Jules Bianchi        Force India    1m20.221s  + 1.660   46
 5.  Kimi Raikkonen       Lotus          1m20.239s  + 1.678  117
 6.  Paul di Resta        Force India    1m20.272s  + 1.711   69
 7.  Felipe Massa         Ferrari        1m20.454s  + 1.893   95
 8.  Jenson Button        McLaren        1m20.688s  + 2.127   85
 9.  Sergio Perez         Sauber         1m20.711s  + 2.150   68
10.  Pastor Maldonado     Williams       1m21.197s  + 2.636   97
11.  Heikki Kovalainen    Caterham       1m21.518s  + 2.957  139
12.  Pedro de la Rosa     HRT            1m22.128s  + 3.567   64

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.