Rosberg takes pole in Monaco

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Nico Rosberg claimed his second successive pole position in Monaco, despite running wide on his second run in Q3.

The German driver took provisional top spot with a 1.15.989 before running deep at Mirabeau on his second attempt, causing a yellow flag.

Several leading drivers were unable to improve their lap times due to Rosberg's error bringing out the yellow flags.

He ended the session less than a tenth of a second ahead of Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton, with Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo in third.

Sebastian Vettel was fourth in the sister Red Bull, ahead of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and Kimi Räikkönen.

Jean-Éric Vergne was seventh for Toro Rosso, with Kevin Magnussen, Daniil Kvyat and Sergio Pérez rounding out the top 10.

Q1 began under sunny skies but a couple of drivers came to grief.

Kvyat lost control of his STR9 under braking for the Nouvelle Chicane and while he initially saved the car, he ended up wiping the front wing from the car. The Russian was nonetheless able to return to the pits for repairs and progress through to Q2.

Caterham’s Marcus Ericsson was on a hot lap but as he tried to pass Felipe Massa at Mirabeau, he slid wide and crashed into the barriers, taking the Brazilian’s Williams with him.

The resulting yellow flags prevented drivers from improving, leaving the Sauber duo of Esteban Gutiérrez and Adrian Sutil out in Q1, along with Marussia’s Jules Bianchi and Max Chilton. The Caterham drivers will complete the grid – Kamui Kobayashi ahead of Ericsson.

The earlier collision left Massa out of Q2, allowing the remaining 15 runners to battle for Q3.

Q2 was a quieter affair until the final couple of minutes when the times began to tumble. Nico Hülkenberg narrowly missed the cut for Q3, as did 2009 race winner Jenson Button.

Valtteri Bottas was 13th, ahead of the Lotus duo of Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado.

The stewards will be investigating the collision with Ericsson and Massa, as well as blocking allegations between Pérez/Gutiérrez and Maldonado/Kvyat.

16Nico RosbergMercedes1:17.6781:16.4651:15.98926
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:17.8231:16.3541:16.04827
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:17.9001:17.2331:16.38422
41Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:18.3831:17.0741:16.54725
514Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:17.8531:17.2001:16.68627
67Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:17.9021:17.3981:17.38927
725Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:17.5571:17.6571:17.54026
820Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:17.9781:17.6091:17.55525
926Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:18.6161:17.5941:18.09023
1011Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:18.1081:17.7551:18.32726
1127Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:18.4321:17.84620
1222Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:17.8901:17.98820
1377Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:18.4071:18.08220
148Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:18.3351:18.19623
1513Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:18.5851:18.35621
1619Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:18.209No time10
1721Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:18.74111
1899Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:18.74511
1917Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:19.33210
204Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:19.9289
2110Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:20.1339
229Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:21.7329

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.