Rosberg beats Hamilton to Bahrain pole

By on Saturday, April 5, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Nico Rosberg claimed pole position for the Bahrain Grand Prix after beating Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton during the Q3 shootout.

Rosberg set a time quick enough for provisional pole, three-tenths of a second ahead of Hamilton, and Rosberg’s position was secure when Hamilton locked up and ran wide as he began his second flying lap.

Daniel Ricciardo set the third fastest time but will drop 10 places on the grid due to his penalty received last weekend in Malaysia. He will therefore start from 13th place.

Valtteri Bottas consequently moves up to third on the grid, ahead of Sergio Pérez and Ferrari’s Kimi Räikkönen.

Jenson Button will start from sixth on the grid, ahead of Felipe Massa, Kevin Magnussen and Fernando Alonso.

Sebastian Vettel was a surprise casualty as he failed to set a lap time good enough to make the top 10 shootout for Red Bull. Vettel complained of problems with his downshift and ran slightly wide at turn four. He will, however, start in 10th place due to Ricciardo’s penalty.

Nico Hülkenberg also failed to make it through to Q3, while Daniil Kvyat, Jean-Éric Vergne, Esteban Gutiérrez and Romain Grosjean were also eliminated in the second session.

Pastor Maldonado was again unable to progress through to Q2, while Adrian Sutil had another disappointing session for Sauber.

Kamui Kobayashi was 19th for Caterham, ahead of Jules Bianchi, Marcus Ericsson and Max Chilton.

There was also a bizarre incident between Sutil and Grosjean as the Sauber driver appeared to block his rival from passing. The stewards are investigating the incident.

6Nico RosbergMercedes1
44Lewis HamiltonMercedes2
77Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes3
11Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes4
7Kimi RäikkönenFerrari5
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes6
19Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes7
20Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes8
14Fernando AlonsoFerrari9
1Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault10
27Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes11
26Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault12
3Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault13
25Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault14
21Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari15
8Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault16
13Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault17
99Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari18
10Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault19
17Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari20
9Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault21
4Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari22

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.