Rosberg sends Mercedes fastest at Barcelona

By on Friday, February 27, 2015
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes sent out a signal of intent to its Formula 1 rivals as Nico Rosberg set the quickest time of pre-season testing at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on Friday.

Rosberg stormed to the top of the times with a 1:22.792 during a Soft tyre run in the afternoon session and followed it up with a lap just a hundredth of a second slower a few minutes later.

Rosberg’s time was seven tenths of a second quicker than the time achieved by Felipe Massa on Thursday.

Valtteri Bottas was second for Williams, 1.2s behind Rosberg, with Sauber’s Felipe Nasr in third.

Sebastian Vettel returned to the cockpit of the Ferrari SF15-T and finished the day in fourth place.

McLaren enjoyed by far its most productive day of pre-season testing as Jenson Button was able to rack up the mileage after a problematic few weeks in the MP4-30.

Button had just completed 100 laps when he came to a halt on track and caused the session to be halted, but it was nonetheless an encouraging day for the Woking-based squad, with Kevin Magnussen set to receive his first taste of the 2015 car on Saturday.

Pastor Maldonado was sixth for Lotus - and brought the day's running to an early end when he stopped at the pit entry - ahead of Toro Rosso youngster Max Verstappen.

Verstappen racked up the miles in the STR10 but his running came to a premature end due to an electrical problem.

Daniil Kvyat was eighth for Red Bull and caused a red flag when his RB11 stopped at Turn 1.

Nico Hülkenberg gave the Force India VJM08 its public debut just before the lunch break, with Force India’s mechanics able to ready the car earlier than initially anticipated.

Hülkenberg’s installation lap was compromised slightly by a puncture but he was able to swiftly return to the circuit and he managed to achieve significant mileage during the afternoon session.

1Nico RosbergMercedes1:22.792106
2Valtteri BottasWilliams1:23.99590
3Felipe NasrSauber1:24.071141
4Sebastian VettelFerrari1:25.339142
5Jenson ButtonMcLaren1:25.590101
6Pastor MaldonadoLotus1;26.705140
7Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:26.766139
8Daniil KvyatRed Bull1:26.96583
9Nico HulkenbergForce India1:28.41277

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.