Rosberg quickest as Monaco action commences

By on Thursday, May 23, 2013

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Nico Rosberg set the fastest time during opening practice for the Monaco Grand Prix.

Rosberg's time of 1:16.195 was marginally quicker than Ferrari's Fernando Alonso.

Every driver set their quickest time on the prime, soft, tyre.

Romain Grosjean was third, ahead of Felipe Massa and Lewis Hamilton.

Williams's Pastor Maldonado impressed by setting the sixth fastest time as the team trialled a stepped nose in their FW35.

2012 winner Mark Webber was seventh, with McLaren drivers Jenson Button and Sergio Perez in eighth and ninth.

World champion Sebastian Vettel rounded out the top 10.

The session passed without any major incidents. Adrian Sutil skimmed the barrier at Sainte Devote and spun, but the German was able to continue without serious damage.

TAKE PART in the Survey

1 Germany N Rosberg Mercedes
2 Spain F Alonso Ferrari
3 France R Grosjean Lotus
4 Brazil F Massa Ferrari
5 Great Britain L Hamilton Mercedes
6 Venezuela P Maldonado Williams
7 Australia M Webber Red Bull
8 Great Britain J Button McLaren
9 Mexico S Perez McLaren
10 Germany S Vettel Red Bull
11 Finland K Raikkonen Lotus
12 Great Britain P Di Resta Force India
13 Germany A Sutil Force India
14 Germany N Hulkenberg Sauber
15 France J Vergne Toro Rosso
16 Mexico E Gutierrez Sauber
17 Finland V Bottas Williams
18 Australia D Ricciardo Toro Rosso
19 Netherlands G van der Garde Caterham
20 France C Pic Caterham
21 France J Bianchi Marussia
22 Great Britain M Chilton Marussia

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.