Rosberg heads final practice session

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg set the quickest time during the final free practice session ahead of qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix.

Rosberg's time of 1:25.887 was almost nine-tenths of a second faster than Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton, who aborted his flying lap on option tyres having been fairly matched across the first two sectors.

Fernando Alonso was 'best of the rest' in third place, albeit 1.3 seconds slower than Rosberg.

Felipe Massa didn't emerge onto the circuit until the final 30 minutes but still set a time quick enough for fourth place, ahead of Lotus's Romain Grosjean.

Kevin Magnussen was sixth quickest, ahead of Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo and former champion Jenson Button.

Pastor Maldonado and Sebastian Vettel - who dipped a wheel onto the grass on his hot lap - rounded out the top 10.

The only notable incident of the session came during the last 10 minutes when Marussia's Max Chilton locked up on the entry to turn five and ended his session in the gravel.

16Nico RosbergMercedes1:25.88716
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:26.7560.8699
314Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:27.1881.30115
419Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:27.2231.33610
58Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:27.6821.79518
620Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:27.8061.91916
73Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:27.8081.92112
822Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:28.0062.11911
913Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:28.0762.18919
101Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:28.0852.19820
1177Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:28.1012.21412
1225Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:28.2422.35516
1326Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:28.2982.41116
147Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:28.4192.53216
1511Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:28.5712.68413
1627Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:28.6682.78113
1799Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:28.7152.82816
1821Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:28.8652.97818
194Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:30.1694.28215
2017Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:30.6704.78312
2110Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:30.7124.82518
229Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:31.5595.67219

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.