Rosberg fastest for Mercedes as testing concludes in Spain

By on Sunday, March 3, 2013

Nico Rosberg set the fastest time for Mercedes as the final test ended at the Circuit de Catalunya

Rosberg's time of 1:20.130 was the fastest time across any of the eight days of testing at the home of the Spanish Grand Prix.

The German driver then followed that time up with another 1:20.1 on a fresh set of soft tyres.

Fernando Alonso was second with a best time of 1:20.494, also set on soft tyres. Alonso also set times of 1:20.5 and 1:20.6 on another set of soft tyres.

Jenson Button was third, ahead of Nico Hulkenberg, whose race simulation came to a premature end when Sauber discovered a technical problem - thought to be a water leak - in his C32.

Having had several setbacks in his pre-season programme - including food poisoning which forced him to miss testing on Saturday - Kimi Raikkonen had to sit out most of the morning session as Lotus discovered a problem on his gearbox following his installation lap. He returned to the track with five minutes to go before lunch and set the fifth fastest time overall during afternoon running.

Aside from Lotus, most teams enjoyed a productive day as an absence of red flags enabled several drivers to pass the 100 lap barrier. The four fastest drivers, along with Force India's Paul di Resta and Caterham's Charles Pic all achieved the feat.

Williams again split driving duties between their drivers. Pastor Maldonado competed in the morning session before handing over to Valtteri Bottas. The duo finished seventh and ninth respectively, split by the Red Bull of reigning champion Sebastian Vettel.

Caterham and Marussia recorded their best times of the test as Pic set a time of 1:23.115 in his CT03. New Marussia recruit Jules Bianchi was narrowly behind with a 1:23.167, before handing over to fellow rookie Max Chilton for the afternoon session.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Laps
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:20.130 125
2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:20.494 116
3 Jenson Button McLaren 1:21.444 118
4 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber 1:21.541 112
5 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:21.658 46
6 Paul di Resta Force India 1:21.664 109
7 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:22.415 42
8 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:22.514 96
9 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:22.524 28
10 Charles Pic Caterham 1:23.115 115
11 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:23.167 62
12 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:23.628 85
13 Max Chilton Marussia 1:24.103 45

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.