Rosberg ends Hamilton streak with pole

By on Saturday, May 9, 2015
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Nico Rosberg ended Lewis Hamilton's streak of pole positions as he set the quickest time during qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix.

Rosberg set two laps fast enough for top spot but it was his first - a 1:24.681 - that enabled him to top the session comfortably, 0.267s ahead of Hamilton.

Sebastian Vettel was third for Ferrari while Valtteri Bottas claimed fourth position for Williams.

Toro Rosso built on its encouraging form by locking out the third row of the grid, with home driver Carlos Sainz Jr in fifth and Max Verstappen sixth.

Kimi Raikkonen - who admitted to struggling with the Ferrari SF15-T on Friday - could manage only seventh.

Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo ensured that both Red Bull drivers qualified inside the top 10, though the pair were split by Williams' Felipe Massa.

Q2 was a fairly quiet session as the five drivers who occupied the knockout positions early on remained in there throughout, though Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado both improved to 11th and 12th places respectively.

The gains made by Lotus left McLaren drivers Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button in 13th and 14th positions, while Felipe Nasr was 15th for Sauber.

Marcus Ericsson failed to progress from the first knockout segment and will start the race from 16th position.

Force India had a difficult day as Nico Hülkenberg could manage only 17th position, a tenth of a second ahead of team-mate Sergio Pérez.

Will Stevens once again got the better of Manor Marussia team-mate Roberto Merhi to the tune of eight tenths of a second.

16Nico RosbergMercedes1:26.490s1:25.166s1:24.681s18
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:26.382s1:25.740s1:24.948s17
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:27.534s1:26.167s1:25.458s15
477Valtteri BottasWilliams1:27.262s1:26.197s1:25.694s16
555Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:26.773s1:26.475s1:26.136s17
633Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:27.393s1:26.441s1:26.249s20
77Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:26.637s1:26.016s1:26.414s16
826Daniil KvyatRed Bull1:27.833s1:26.889s1:26.629s16
919Felipe MassaWilliams1:27.165s1:26.147s1:26.757s16
103Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:27.611s1:26.692s1:26.770s16
118Romain GrosjeanLotus1:27.383s1:27.375s13
1213Pastor MaldonadoLotus1:27.281s1:27.450s13
1314Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:27.941s1:27.760s11
1422Jenson ButtonMcLaren1:27.813s1:27.854s12
1512Felipe NasrSauber1:27.625s1:28.005s14
169Marcus EricssonSauber1:28.112s6
1727Nico HulkenbergForce India1:28.365s6
1811Sergio PerezForce India1:28.442s7
1928Will StevensMarussia1:31.200s6
2098Roberto MerhiMarussia1:32.038s4

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.