Rosberg beats Hamilton to pole in Brazil

By on Saturday, November 8, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Nico Rosberg edged out Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton to claim his 10th pole position of the season during qualifying for the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Rosberg’s time of 1:10.023s was 0.033s quicker than Hamilton, who locked up on the entry to Bico di Pato on his hot lap.

Rosberg's 10th pole of the year ensures that he has secured the inaugural Pole Trophy.

Williams threatened during the initial stages but both drivers backed off on their final laps, with Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas ending in third and fourth.

Jenson Button was fifth for McLaren, ahead of outgoing world champion Sebastian Vettel.

Kevin Magnussen led Fernando Alonso, while Daniel Ricciardo and Kimi Räikkönen rounded out the top 10.

Both Sauber drivers made it into Q2 with Esteban Gutiérrez and Adrian Sutil split by the Force India of Nico Hülkenberg. Sutil’s plight was not aided by him running wide at Juncao on his first hot lap.

Daniil Kvyat didn’t set a lap time in Q2 and will drop to 17th place as he takes the remainder of an engine penalty.

Romain Grosjean was 15th fastest and therefore missed out on a Q2 berth, while Jean-Éric Vergne placed 16th for Toro Rosso after he made an error at Mergulho.

Sergio Pérez was 17th in the Force India but will drop behind slowest qualifier Pastor Maldonado on account of his grid penalty for hitting Sutil in the last Grand Prix.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.