Rosberg beats Hamilton to Japan pole

By on Saturday, October 4, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Nico Rosberg beat Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton to pole position for the Japanese Grand Prix.

Rosberg was quicker in both runs in Q3, his final time of 1:32.506 almost two-tenths of a second faster than title rival Hamilton.

Williams secured the second row of the grid, with Valtteri Bottas in third and Felipe Massa in fourth.

Fernando Alonso ended in fifth for Ferrari, ahead of Daniel Ricciardo and the McLaren pairing of Kevin Magnussen and Jenson Button.

Sebastian Vettel, who earlier confirmed he is leaving Red Bull at the end of 2014, was ninth, with Kimi Räikkönen rounding out the top 10.

Jean-Éric Vergne narrowly failed to make it through to Q3 and will start from 11th, while Sergio Pérez abandoned his final lap on his way to 12th.

Daniil Kvyat was 13th while Nico Hülkenberg was set to progress until he locked up at the Casio Triangle and lost time.

Sauber made it through to Q2 but 15th and 16th was their limit, with Adrian Sutil ahead of Esteban Gutiérrez.

Neither Lotus driver was able to progress from Q1, with Pastor Maldonado edging out Romain Grosjean by less than a tenth of a second.

Maldonado, however, will drop to the back due to an engine penalty and as he can’t serve all 10 positions, the remaining five places will be taken at next weekend’s Russian Grand Prix.

Marcus Ericsson was a fine 19th for Caterham, ahead of Jules Bianchi, Kamui Kobayashi and Max Chilton.

16Nico RosbergMercedes1:33.6711:32.9501:32.506
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:33.6111:32.9821:32.703
377Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:34.3011:33.4431:33.128
419Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:34.4831:33.5511:33.527
514Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:34.4971:33.6751:33.740
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:35.5931:34.4661:34.075
720Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:34.9301:34.2291:34.242
822Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:35.1501:34.6481:34.317
91Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:35.5171:34.7841:34.432
107Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:34.9841:34.7711:34.548
1125Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:35.1551:34.984
1211Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:35.4391:35.089
1326Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:35.2101:35.092
1427Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:35.0001:35.099
1599Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:35.7361:35.364
1621Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:35.3081:35.681
1713Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:35.917
188Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:35.984
199Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:36.813
2017Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:36.943
2110Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:37.015
224Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:37.481

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.