Rosberg beats Hamilton to Austria win

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Nico Rosberg beat Lewis Hamilton to claim a tense victory as Formula 1 returned to Austria for the first time since 2003.

Both drivers recovered from their qualifying disappointments to move to the front of the field following the first round of pit stops.

Hamilton had a slow second stop and emerged two seconds behind Rosberg, with the duo maintaining a similar pace across the final stint of the race.

Valtteri Bottas claimed third for Williams - his first podium in the sport - with Felipe Massa in fourth.

Massa retained the lead at the start but lost out through the first round of pit stops after Rosberg stopped early. He was also passed on track by Hamilton and jumped at the second round of stops by Bottas.

Much of Hamilton's work was done at the start of the race when he moved up from ninth on the grid to sit fourth at the end of the first lap.

Fernando Alonso had a quiet race in fifth, while Sergio Perez stayed out for a lengthy first stint and led the race on his way to sixth.

Kevin Magnussen finished in seventh for McLaren, while Daniel Ricciardo passed Nico Hulkenberg on the final lap for eighth.

Kimi Raikkonen rounded out the top 10 for Ferrari.

It was a disastrous day for Sebastian Vettel as he lost power on the second lap and while he rebooted the RB10, he lost a lap. The German also clipped Esteban Gutiérrez’s Sauber before retiring from the race.

Toro Rosso had a day to forget as Daniil Kvyat’s feisty run came to an end with an apparent right rear suspension failure, while Jean-Éric Vergne’s car suffered a brake failure.

16Nico RosbergMercedes71Winner325
244Lewis HamiltonMercedes71+1.9 secs918
377Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes71+8.1 secs215
419Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes71+17.3 secs112
514Fernando AlonsoFerrari71+18.5 secs410
611Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes71+28.5 secs158
720Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes71+32.0 secs66
83Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault71+43.5 secs54
927Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes71+44.1 secs102
107Kimi RäikkönenFerrari71+47.7 secs81
1122Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes71+50.9 secs11
1213Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault70+1 Lap13
1399Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari70+1 Lap16
148Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault70+1 Lap22
1517Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari69+2 Lap18
1610Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault69+2 Lap19
174Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari69+2 Lap21
189Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault69+2 Lap20
1921Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari69+2 Lap17
Ret25Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault59+12 Lap14
Ret1Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault34+37 Laps12
Ret26Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault24+47 Laps7

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.