Ricciardo claims maiden win in Canada thriller

By on Sunday, June 8, 2014
Red Bull/Getty Images

Red Bull/Getty Images

Daniel Ricciardo ended Mercedes’s victory streak in a thrilling Canadian Grand Prix at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Both Mercedes drivers hit problems, with Ricciardo snatching the lead from Nico Rosberg with two laps remaining.

The race ended behind the safety car following a huge accident between Sergio Pérez and Felipe Massa.

Hamilton got the better start but Rosberg maintained the inside line into the first corner, forcing the Brit wide and down into third, behind Vettel.

The racing lasted only a few corners more before the safety car was deployed following a tangle between the Marussia drivers.

Max Chilton got sideways on the entry to turn three and clipped Jules Bianchi, sending his team-mate into the wall. The Frenchman suffered a heavy impact into the wall but was uninjured, while Chilton also retired for the first time in his Formula 1 career.

At the restart Hamilton began closing the gap to Vettel and made the move into the chicane on lap 10, meaning that the Brit sat a couple of seconds behind Rosberg.

Rosberg stopped first, followed a lap later by Hamilton, while behind them Fernando Alonso jumped Jean-Éric Vergne by pitting a lap later and both gained on Massa after Williams had problems detaching the right front tyre.

After the stops Hamilton began to carve the gap to Rosberg by over half a second a lap, while Vettel tried to get through on the yet to stop Nico Hülkenberg but ran wide at the hairpin.

Hamilton continued to cut the gap to get within the DRS zone but Rosberg locked up at the chicane and opted to cut the corner, enabling him to open the gap to more than a second.

Hamilton quickly responded to get back within DRS range, while the stewards investigated Rosberg’s error and gave him a final warning.

Suddenly both Mercedes drivers started lapping around three seconds off the pace as Rosberg and Hamilton complained of a loss of power.

Rosberg pitted for fresh tyres on lap 44, losing a position to Massa, while the Brazilian took the lead when Hamilton stopped a lap later. Hamilton soon suffered a brake failure and was forced to retire, while Rosberg assumed the lead once Massa made his second stop.

With 20 laps to go the Mercedes driver led Pérez, Ricciardo, Vettel, Hülkenberg, Bottas, Massa and Alonso, all separated by less than 10 seconds.

Perez was unable to match Rosberg in sector one and two, giving the German an advantage despite his power unit problems costing him a huge amount of straight line speed.

Massa eventually got through on Hülkenberg and Bottas and began setting purple sector times, before the Finn began losing time as Grosjean retired.

Rosberg maintained the lead as behind him Ricciardo finally got through on Pérez with five laps remaining. The Australian carved into Rosberg’s advantage and took the lead with two laps remaining.

On the last lap Massa tried to get past an ailing Pérez but misjudged his position and slammed into the back of his rival, with both drivers suffering heavy impacts into the wall. Massa’s out of control Williams narrowly avoided Vettel, who was able to finish in third.

Up front it was Ricciardo who claimed his maiden win in the sport, ahead of Rosberg and Vettel. Jenson Button pipped Hülkenberg to fourth, while Alonso, Bottas, Vergne, Kevin Magnussen and Kimi Räikkönen completed the top 10.

13Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-RenaultWinner625
26Nico RosbergMercedes+4.2 secs118
31Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault+5.2 secs315
422Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes+11.7 secs912
527Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes+12.8 secs1110
614Fernando AlonsoFerrari+14.8 secs78
777Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes+23.5 secs46
825Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault+28.0 secs84
920Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes+29.2 secs122
107Kimi RäikkönenFerrari+53.6 secs101
1111Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes+1 Lap13
1219Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes+1 Lap5
1399Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari+1 Lap16
1421Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari+6 Lap22
Ret8Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault+11 Lap14
Ret26Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault+23 Laps15
Ret44Lewis HamiltonMercedes+24 Laps2
Ret10Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault+47 Laps21
Ret13Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault+49 Laps17
Ret9Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault+63 Laps20
Ret4Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari+70 Laps18
Ret17Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari+70 Laps19

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.