Raikkonen heads final day of first test

By on Thursday, February 25, 2016
Pirelli Media

Pirelli Media

Ferrari’s Kimi Räikkönen returned the team to the top of the time sheets on the final day of the first pre-season test at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Räikkönen set a time of 1:23.477 on the Ultra Soft tyres to ensure that Ferrari finished in front on three of the four days, with team-mate Sebastian Vettel having been quickest on Monday and Tuesday.

However, once again it was Mercedes which racked up the mileage courtesy of Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg.

Mercedes split running between the pair and the W07 Hybrid amassed 185 laps of the circuit, ensuring the outfit finished substantially ahead in the mileage charts.

Rosberg and Hamilton placed only seventh and eighth in the time sheets but Mercedes finished the test with its car having run faultlessly.

Force India development driver Alfonso Celis Jr. returned to the VJM09 and went third with a late lap on Super Soft tyres.

Kevin Magnussen racked up over two Grands Prix distances for Renault before stopping at Turn 3 with 15 minutes of the session remaining.

Max Verstappen also enjoyed substantial mileage despite appearing to suffer a failure at Turn 11 during the afternoon session, with his left-rear crabbing as he returned to the pits.

Felipe Nasr was sixth as Sauber’s 2015 car received its last outing ahead of the C35's debut next week.

Felipe Massa had a low-key day in ninth spot while Esteban Gutiérrez completed a race simulation for Haas before stopping on track late in the afternoon.

Rio Haryanto returned to action for Manor but brought out the red flags when he crashed at Turn 4, causing damage to the rear of the MRT05.

McLaren had a dismal day as Fernando Alonso completed only three installation laps early in the morning due to a coolant leak.

17Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1:23.47780
226Daniil KvyatRed Bull1:24.29396
334Alfonso Celis Jr.Force India1:24.84075
420Kevin Magnussen Renault1:25.263153
533Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:25.393110
612Felipe NasrSauber1:26.053121
76Nico RosbergMercedes1:26.18786
844Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:26.29599
919Felipe MassaWilliams1:26.94254
1021Esteban GutierrezHaas1:27.80289
1188Rio HaryantoManor1:28.26651
1214Fernando AlonsoMcLarenNo time set3

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.