Raikkonen beats Red Bull to fastest practice time

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

Lotus's Kimi Raikkonen set the fastest time during second practice for the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Raikkonen's time of 1:34.154 was three hundredths of a second quicker than Red Bull's Mark Webber, with his team-mate Sebastian Vettel close behind.

Fernando Alonso was fourth, ahead of Force India's Paul di Resta.

First practice pacesetter Felipe Massa was sixth fastest.

Romain Grosjean was seventh, with Nico Rosberg in eighth. Adrian Sutil and Lewis Hamilton rounded out the top 10.

Neither McLaren driver made it into the top 10, with Jenson Button in eleventh, two places ahead of Sergio Perez.

The only casualty of the session was Esteban Gutierrez, who sustained a puncture after making contact with Caterham's Charles Pic.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.

On this day
  • Peter Collins won the 1956 French Grand Prix.
  • Jean-Pierre Jabouille won the 1979 French Grand Prix.
  • Kimi Räikkönen won the 2007 French Grand Prix.
  • Michael Schumacher won the 2001 French Grand Prix.
  • Luigi Fagioli won the 1951 French Grand Prix.
  • Juan Manuel Fangio won the 1951 French Grand Prix.
  • Ronnie Peterson won the 1973 French Grand Prix.