Qantas Australian Grand Prix


Qantas Australian Grand Prix

Albert Park
Circuit Length: 5.303 km
Race Length: 58 laps
Details: Street Circuit
2010 winner: Jenson Button
Lap Record: 1:24.125 (Michael Schumacher, Ferrari, 2004)
Date: 27th March


Qantas Australian Grand Prix

When Formula One came to Australia in 1985 it set up home in Adelaide. However, ex-racer-turned-entrepreneur Bob Jane wanted a race in Melbourne. He created a huge 'thunderdome' and invented the AUSCAR series, bringing NASCAR action to Australia.

The desire to have a race in Melbourne did not wane. Despite the popular end of season slot for the Adelaide race, pressure was growing from the Melbourne motor sport community, and in 1992 Jeff Kennett was elected the new premier of the State of Victoria. He immediately set about improving Melbourne's profile. First on his list was the Australian Grand Prix.

An agreement was reached with Formula One in 1993, but the contract with Adelaide did not expire until 1995, so Kennett had plenty of time to prepare. A track was developed in Melbourne's beautiful Albert Park, part of it using closed-off public roads, and in 1996 the city held the first round of the world championship. Since then the race has become very popular with drivers and fans alike, and the party atmosphere of Melbourne keeps them coming back year after year.



Date: 27th March

Length: 5.303km

Laps: 58

Lap Record: 1:24.125 (M. Schumacher, 2004)

2010 winner: J Button

2010 pole sitter: S Vettel

What happened in 2010: The track was damp at the start but an early change to slicks ensured a first McLaren win for Button

Memorable moment: Ralf Schumacher launching himself over Rubens Barrichello at the start of the 2002 race