Perez sets pace on day two in Bahrain

By on Friday, February 28, 2014
Sahara Force India

Sahara Force India

Sergio Perez continued to set the pace on the second day of the final test in Bahrain.

Perez's time of a 1:35.570 was 0.064s faster than Fernando Alonso's best time achieved in the Ferrari F14 T.

Perez ensured that Force India remains at the top of the time sheets after the Mexican also posted the quickest time on Thursday.

Daniel Ricciardo set Red Bull's fastest time so far but the Australian once again spent long periods of time in the garage as the RB10 was unable to complete long runs.

Felipe Massa returned to the cockpit of the Williams FW36 and set the fourth fastest time.

Jenson Button encountered a problem with the MP4-29 that left him stranded out on track but he nonetheless recovered to fifth place.

Jules Bianchi enjoyed a positive day for Marussia as the French racer completed 75 laps and set the sixth quickest time.

It was a slightly troublesome day for form team Mercedes, despite Lewis Hamilton amassing 89 laps.

The Brit ran into the gravel early on during the morning session but Mercedes was able to return the W05 to the circuit fairly swiftly. Hamilton's running ended prematurely when Mercedes discovered a gearbox problem with the car.

Jean-Eric Vergne was eighth for Toro Rosso, ahead of the Sauber of Esteban Gutierrez.

Lotus endured another difficult day with the E22 as Pastor Maldonado stopped on track with a small number of flames coming from the car. Maldonado was unable to return to the track, meaning that he ended the day with 31 laps to his name.

Marcus Ericsson ended the day at the foot of the time sheets after his Caterham CT05 came to a smoky halt at turn four during the final hour of running. The Swede nonetheless completed 55 laps.

While testing was ongoing in Bahrain, Formula 1's strategy group met and decided against introducing double points for the final three rounds of the season.

There were plans for the races in the United States and Brazil to count for double points, but these have now been shelved. The season finale remains the standalone double points race.

111Sergio PérezForce India-Mercedes1.35.570108
214Fernando AlonsoFerrari1.35.634122
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull-Renault1.35.74366
419Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1.36.503103
522Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1.36.90152
617Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1.38.09275
744Lewis HamiltonMercedes1.39.04189
825Jean-Éric VergneToro Rosso-Renault1.39.63662
921Esteban GutiérrezSauber-Ferrari1.39.976106
1013Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1.41.76231
119Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1.42.51655

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.