New engine deal for Sauber close says Domenicali

By on Monday, August 26, 2013

A new engine deal for Sauber could be announced at the Italian grand prix in two weeks, Ferrari team boss Stefano Domenicali said on Sunday.

"As you know, we want to continue to supply our engines to Sauber," said Domenicali. "So I hope that very soon we will settle all the formalities."

Reports in recent weeks have indicated the relationship between the financially-struggling Swiss team and Sauber is on the rocks, over unpaid bills for the current V8 engine.

But it does appear that the first money from Sauber's new Russian rescue deal has now started to flow.

Asked whether a 2014 engine deal for Sauber could be announced at Monza, Domenicali answered: "I hope so."

Sauber team boss Monisha Kaltenborn agreed: "Yes. There are no problems with the talks, and we hope that in the very near future we come to an agreement."

Asked if there is a chance an announcement will be made at Monza, she answered: "Of course.

"We have never considered any other options (than Ferrari), and do not plan to either."

Kaltenborn also hinted that the Sauber-Ferrari relationship could actually be strengthened for 2014 and beyond, as the new turbo V6 era begins.

"Let's see if it makes sense," she said.

"We have worked very closely before, and I think both sides are ready for it. We know each other well and cooperate perfectly, so we'll see how things develop."

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.

On this day
  • Pat Flaherty won the 1956 Indianapolis 500.
  • Troy Ruttman won the 1952 Indianapolis 500.
  • Sam Hanks won the 1957 Indianapolis 500.
  • Jim Rathmann won the 1960 Indianapolis 500.
  • Michael Schumacher won the 2004 European Grand Prix.
  • Johnnie Parsons won the 1950 Indianapolis 500.
  • Graham Hill won the 1965 Monaco Grand Prix.
  • Bill Vukovich won the 1953 Indianapolis 500.
  • Rodger Ward won the 1959 Indianapolis 500.
  • Bob Sweikert won the 1955 Indianapolis 500.
  • Mika Häkkinen won the 1999 Spanish Grand Prix.