Mercedes deserves current success - Szafnauer

By on Friday, May 23, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Force India chief operating officer Otmar Szafnauer says that it will be a difficult proposition for any team to beat Mercedes in 2014.

Mercedes has claimed five successive pole positions and race wins ahead of this weekend's Monaco Grand Prix and Szafnauer doubts that the squad will lose their advantage.

"The latitude that you have to make aerodynamic changes has got even smaller because the regulations got uptight so that makes it harder," he told

"Red Bull has a very good car and they are sorting out their power train, I’m sure they will get closer. But Mercedes has done a great job, they deserve to be where they are.

"They have a gap and I don’t think they will stop developing. So even if we develop at a higher rate than them, the gap will get smaller but there will still be a gap."

Szafnauer is confident that his Force India outfit can achieve a stronger result at this weekend's Monaco Grand Prix, after finishing in ninth and 10th two weeks ago in Spain.

"Barcelona wasn’t our best performance, we’ve could have done better there," he said.

"I think strategically we probably could have finish eighth but even with that we had some components that wasn’t working to the optimum that it should and we’ve corrected that. So had we gone into that race with everything working optimally we would have finish higher. Even with that problem, finishing ninth and 10th it's not so bad."

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.