Massa takes stunning pole in Austria

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014
Williams Martini Racing

Williams Martini Racing

Felipe Massa claimed a stunning pole position for Williams at the Austrian Grand Prix.

Massa edged out Williams team-mate Valtteri Bottas during a thrilling conclusion to qualifying to take his first pole position since 2008.

It is the first time Williams have locked out the front row of the grid in over 10 years.

Bottas held top spot after the first run but he made a minor mistake on his second lap, allowing Massa to post a time of 1:08.759 to claim pole position,

Mercedes's Nico Rosberg was third quickest but Lewis Hamilton made a couple of errors in Q3 and will start from ninth.

Fernando Alonso was fourth for Ferrari, ahead of Daniel Ricciardo and Kevin Magnussen.

Daniil Kvyat was seventh, with Kimi Raikkonen in eighth.

Hamilton had his initial time disallowed after running wide at turn eight while on his second lap the Brit spun under braking for turn two. Nico Hulkenberg rounded out the top 10.

Sergio Pérez failed to make it through to Q3 and as a result of his five place grid penalty will start from 16th place, having qualified in 11th.

Former team-mate Jenson Button will consequently start from 11th on the grid, ahead of reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel, who struggled throughout the session.

Pastor Maldonado will start 13th after failing to improve on his final lap when he slid wide at turn five and skated through the gravel. The Venezuelan will start alongside Jean-Éric Vergne, with the other Lotus of Romain Grosjean close behind in 15th.

It was another troublesome day for Sauber as Adrian Sutil set a lap good enough for Q2 progression but had it deleted due to exceeding track limits.

Sutil improved his time but it was only good enough for 17th, albeit half a second clear of team-mate Esteban Gutiérrez.

Jules Bianchi got within a tenth of the Mexican racer and he qualified in 19th, ahead of Kamui Kobayashi.

Max Chilton was comfortably clear of Marcus Ericsson but will start from the back following his grid penalty.

119Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:10.2921:09.2391:08.75919
277Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:10.3561:09.0961:08.84619
36Nico RosbergMercedes1:09.6951:08.9741:08.94417
414Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:10.4051:09.4791:09.28525
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:10.3951:09.6381:09.46622
620Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:10.0811:09.4731:09.51529
726Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:09.6781:09.4901:09.61921
87Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:10.2851:09.6571:10.79523
944Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:09.5141:09.09215
1027Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:10.3891:09.62423
1111Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:10.1241:09.75418
1222Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:10.2521:09.78022
131Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:10.6301:09.80115
1413Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:10.8211:09.93918
1525Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:10.1611:10.07319
168Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:10.4611:10.64221
1799Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:10.82510
1821Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:11.34910
1917Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:11.4129
2010Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:11.67310
214Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:11.77510
229Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:12.67311

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.