Massa goes fastest on Day Three in Jerez

By on Thursday, February 7, 2013

Felipe Massa set the fastest time on the third day of testing at Jerez in Spain.

The Brazilian's time of 1:17.879 wasn't headed as he concludes his three day stint in the Ferrari F138, handing over to Pedro de La Rosa tomorrow.

After a difficult start to 2013 that included a minor fire and a crash, Mercedes got some good running under their belt as Nico Rosberg completed 148 laps, finishing in second place behind Massa.

World champions Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen got their first taste of 2013 machinery, as did the Toro Rosso driver Jean Eric Vergne. Vettel completed 101 laps as he returned to the cockpit for the first time since his thrilling title win in Brazil last year.

Jenson Button resumed testing duties for McLaren, although he will hand over to team-mate Sergio Perez tomorrow. Button brought the day to a halt five minutes early when he stopped on track.

There was drama in the morning for Force India as James Rossiter missed his braking point in the pits and struck a mechanic. He was bruised and shaken but sustained no further injuries. Rossiter took the blame for the incident, citing cold brakes and tyres. An exhaust failure later in the day limited Paul di Resta's running to just seven laps. Jules Bianchi, a candidate for the vacant second seat, tests the VJM06 tomorrow.

Esteban Gutierrez completed his first run in the Sauber C32 and he was the third driver to break the hundred laps barrier. He eventually drove for 110 laps, finishing in eighth place.

Williams rookie Valtteri Bottas took to the track for the first time in the modified FW34, while Charles Pic also made his Caterham début in the CT03. The French driver suffered a mechanical failure early on but returned to the track later on.

Max Chilton was back in the Marussia MR02 and he set the team's fastest time of the week, ending up in ninth place. Fellow rookie Luiz Razia returns to the car tomorrow.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap Laps
1 F. Massa Ferrari F138 1:17.879 85
2 N. Rosberg Mercedes W04 1:18.766 +0.887 148
3 S. Vettel Red Bull RB9 1:19.052 +1.173 102
4 K. Raikkonen Lotus E21 1:19.200 +1.321 40
5 JE. Vergne Toro Rosso STR8 1:19.247 +1.368 85
6 J. Rossiter Force India VJM06 1:19.303 +1.424 42
7 J. Button McLaren MP4-28 1:19.603 +1.724 83
8 E. Gutierrez Sauber C32 1:19.934 +2.055 110
9 M. Chilton Marussia MR02 1:21.269 +3.390 78
10 V. Bottas Williams FW34 1:21.575 +3.696 86
11 C. Pic Caterham CT03 1:22.352 +4.473 57
12 P. di Resta Force India VJM06 1:23.729 +5.850 7

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.