Loeb claims Monte Carlo victory

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

Sebastien Loeb opened 2012 in perfect fashion as he dominated the Monte Carlo Rally - and added salt into the wounds of his rivals by also winning the power stage.

Loeb's only competition came from Jari Matti Latvala, as a bold tyre choice from the Finn handed him the lead on the opening day of the rally. However, once Latvala rolled out on SS4, Loeb was untroubled at the front, duly winning by almost three minutes. Loeb's Power Stage victory also gave him the maximum points available - 28.

Mini's troubled start to the season eased as Dani Sordo battled to take a brilliant second place, ahead of Petter Solberg on his return to Ford. An incorrect tyre choice cost Solberg on Thursday, although he fought back to close on Sordo, but it wasn't enough.

Mikko Hirvonen started quietly on his Citroen debut, but a string of fastest times elevated him to the battle for the podium. However, a spin on Saturday's penultimate stage left him fourth.

Evgeny Novikov starred on his Monte Carlo debut to take a fine 5th, ahead of team mate Francois Delecour. Pierre Campana, Ott Tanak, Martin Prokop and Armindo Araujo rounded out the points finishers.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time/Gap/Points
 1.  Sebastien Loeb     Citroen       4h32m39.9s - 28
 2.  Dani Sordo         Mini           + 2m45.5s - 18
 3.  Petter Solberg     Ford           + 3m14.2s - 15
 4.  Mikko Hirvonen     Citroen        + 4m06.8s - 14
 5.  Evgeny Novikov     M-Sport Ford   + 6m03.4s - 11
 6.  Francois Delecour  M-Sport Ford   + 7m47.9s - 8
 7.  Pierre Campana     Mini           + 8m31.4s - 6
 8.  Ott Tanak          M-Sport Ford  + 10m34.7s - 4
 9.  Martin Prokop      Czech Ford    + 16m10.7s - 2
10.  Armindo Araujo     Araujo Mini   + 16m16.6s - 1

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.