Hamilton wins world championship in Abu Dhabi

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton has won the 2014 Formula 1 World Championship, his second, at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Hamilton claimed victory in Abu Dhabi despite a determined charge by Felipe Massa as Nico Rosberg finished in 14th after developing mechanical problems.

Hamilton took the lead off the line from Rosberg and the German was left to defend against Massa heading into Turn 1, while  Valtteri Bottas slipped to eighth after a poor getaway.

The gap between Hamilton and Rosberg stabilised around the 1.5 second mark as the pair pulled clear of Massa, who in turn put some distance between himself and Button.

Both Mercedes drivers made the switch to Prime tyres without any problems and the pair emerged from the pits separated by 2.6 seconds, as Massa enjoyed a brief stint at the head of the pack.

The gap remained stable until Rosberg went wide at the hotel and suddenly began to lose huge chunks of time in each sector.

On Lap 25 Rosberg was informed that ERS had failed and he was losing power, dropping around four seconds per lap. Massa breezed by to take second place before Bottas took third.

The frontrunners made their second stop for Primes without any issues, except for Massa, who stayed out in the Williams on Prime tyres.

Massa stopped with 11 laps remaining and Williams fitted his car with Option tyres as he emerged 11.2s behind Hamilton.

Massa closed in on Hamilton but fell 2.5s short, with Bottas in third in the sister Williams.

Daniel Ricciardo charged from the pit lane to fourth place, while Jenson Button took fifth for McLaren.

Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez took sixth and seventh, while Sebastian Vettel and Ferrari pair Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen completed the top 10.

Rosberg remained in the fringes of the top 10 until the final few laps when he rapidly slowed. Mercedes asked him to retire but he stayed out and eventually finished a lapped 14th.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes55Winner250
219Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes55+2.5 secs436
377Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes55+28.8 secs330
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault55+37.2 secs2024
522Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes55+60.3 secs620
627Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes55+62.1 secs1216
711Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes55+71.0 secs1112
81Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault55+72.0 secs198
914Fernando AlonsoFerrari55+85.8 secs84
107Kimi RäikkönenFerrari55+87.8 secs72
1120Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes55+90.3 secs9
1225Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault55+91.9 secs10
138Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault54+1 Lap18
146Nico RosbergMercedes54+1 Lap1
1521Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari54+1 Lap14
1699Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari54+1 Lap13
1746Will StevensCaterham-Renault54+1 Lap17
Ret10Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault42+13 Laps16
Ret13Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault26+29 Laps15
Ret26Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault14+41 Laps5

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.