Hamilton tops second practice in Bahrain

By on Friday, April 4, 2014

Lewis-Hamilton-Bahrain-testingLewis Hamilton continued his strong form by setting the fastest time during second practice for the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Hamilton was 0.365s ahead of Mercedes team-mate during a practice session which took place under the lights at the Bahrain International Circuit.

Fernando Alonso was the fastest non-Mercedes package as he set the third quickest time, over a second down on Hamilton’s best lap time.

Daniel Ricciardo was fourth for Red Bull, ahead of Williams's Felipe Massa, McLaren’s Jenson Button and reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel.

Daniil Kvyat set the eighth quickest time in his Toro Rosso STR9 despite suffering from downshift issues early on in the session.

Kevin Magnussen was ninth quickest, while Sergio Pérez rounded out the top 10 for Force India.

Several drivers struggled down into the sharp left hander at turn 10 during the session while the stewards will investigate an incident between Rosberg and Pérez. The German driver was on the racing line as Pérez completed a flying lap and the Force India racer had to take evasive action to avoid contact.

A couple of drivers endured reliability woes during the 90 minute session.

Adrian Sutil’s Sauber crawled to a halt exiting turn four, while Max Chilton suffered a left front brake disc failure as he approached turn four, causing his Marussia to spin off the track and consequently stop with a loss of power.

Marcus Ericsson also endured a trying time as he set the slowest time, 0.8s adrift of Caterham team-mate Kamui Kobayashi, and stopped on track with six minutes remaining in the session.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:34.32528
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:34.6900.36531
314Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:35.3601.03528
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:35.4331.10828
519Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:35.4421.117
622Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:35.5281.20321
71Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:35.6061.28130
826Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:35.6401.31531
920Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:35.6621.33722
1011Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:35.8021.47740
1177Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:35.9201.5959
1225Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:35.9721.64733
1327Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:35.9981.67318
147Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:36.3662.04133
1599Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:36.9622.63713
1621Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:36.9752.65035
1713Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:37.2592.93425
188Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:37.5993.27423
1917Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:37.8003.47515
204Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:38.2473.92210
2110Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:38.2573.93233
229Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:39.1364.81130

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.