Hamilton takes Russia win to clinch title for Mercedes

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton dominated proceedings to claim victory at a low-key Russian Grand Prix at Sochi Autodrom, which secured the Constructors’ Championship for Mercedes.

Hamilton was untroubled after Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg locked up at the first corner and had to pit.

The German nonetheless recovered to second, with Valtteri Bottas in third.

Hamilton initially held the lead but he was challenged on the run down to Turn Two by Rosberg, with the Mercedes pair running side-by-side.

Rosberg claimed the inside line but misjudged his braking and heavily locked both front tyres, cutting the inside of the corner to take the lead. Rosberg duly relinquished the position but pitted at the end of the lap due to the damage to his tyres.

Hamilton gradually extended his lead across the opening stint, with Bottas in second, Jenson Button third and Fernando Alonso fourth.

The leading quartet all pitted but Alonso lost five seconds due to a front jack problem in his stop and dropped behind Kevin Magnussen, while Rosberg’s recovery took him to the back of Bottas once the Finn pitted. Rosberg closed the gap and made the DRS-assisted move into second on lap 31.

Hamilton cruised to the flag to take his ninth win of the year by 13.6s seconds, with Rosberg and Bottas completing the podium.

McLaren pair Button and Magnussen had a lonely run to fourth and fifth, with Alonso fending off Daniel Ricciardo for sixth.

Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Räikkönen and Sergio Pérez rounded out the top 10.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedesWinner125
26Nico RosbergMercedes+13.6 secs218
377Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes+17.4 secs315
422Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes+30.2 secs412
520Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes+53.6 secs1110
614Fernando AlonsoFerrari+60.0 secs78
73Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault+61.8 secs66
81Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault+66.1 secs104
97Kimi RäikkönenFerrari+78.8 secs82
1011Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes+80.0 secs121
1119Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes+80.8 secs18
1227Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes+81.3 secs17
1325Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault+97.2 secs9
1426Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault+1 Lap5
1521Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari+1 Lap13
1699Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari+1 Lap14
178Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault+1 Lap15
1813Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault+1 Lap21
199Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault+2 Lap16
Ret10Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault+32 Laps19
Ret4Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari+44 Laps20

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.