Hamilton takes pole in wet Malaysia

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

World Champion Lewis Hamilton claimed pole position during a wet final shootout session during qualifying for the Malaysian Grand Prix, which was delayed for half an hour.

Hamilton posted his time early in a wet Q3 session and while he remained unbeaten, Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel got to within a tenth of his time to split the Mercedes pair.

Nico Rosberg was third, ahead of the Red Bull duo of Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat.

Rookie Max Verstappen was a stellar sixth position for Toro Rosso, while Felipe Massa, Romain Grosjean, Valtteri Bottas and Marcus Ericsson rounded out the top 10, the latter quartet gambling on Wet tyres before switching to Intermediates for their final lap.

The anticipated wet weather struck a couple of minutes into the second knockout session, with the 15 runners jostling for positing on track during the early stages of the session.

Ferrari's Kimi Räikkönen lost out as he became stuck behind Ericsson and was only 11th, while Pastor Maldonado, Nico Hülkenberg, Sergio Pérez and Carlos Sainz Jr also failed to set a quick enough lap before the rain poured down, leaving the circuit empty for the remainder of the session.

After his starring role in Australia, Sauber’s Felipe Nasr was unable to make it out of the dry Q1 session but managed to beat Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso as McLaren’s troubled start to 2015 continued.

Manor Marussia driver Roberto Merhi was 19th but was outside of the 107% mark while Will Stevens was unable to participate in qualifying due to a fuel system problem.

The squad will seek special dispensation from the FIA to race, with both drivers having posted lap times within the 107% barrier during practice sessions on Friday.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:39.2691:41.5171:49.834
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:39.8141:39.6321:49.908
36Nico RosbergMercedes1:39.3741:39.3771:50.299
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing1:40.5041:41.0851:51.541
526Daniil KvyatRed Bull Racing1:40.5461:41.6651:51.951
633Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:40.7931:41.4301:51.981
719Felipe MassaWilliams1:40.5431:41.2301:52.473
88Romain GrosjeanLotus1:40.3031:41.2091:52.981
977Valtteri BottasWilliams1:40.2491:40.6501:53.179
109Marcus EricssonSauber1:40.3401:41.7481:53.261
117Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1:40.4151:42.173
1213Pastor MaldonadoLotus1:40.3611:42.198
1327Nico HulkenbergForce India1:40.8301:43.023
1411Sergio PerezForce India1:41.0361:43.469
1555Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:39.8141:43.701
1612Felipe NasrSauber1:41.308
1722Jenson ButtonMcLaren1:41.636
1814Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:41.746
1998Roberto MerhiManor Marussia1:46.677*
2028Will StevensManor MarussiaNo time set*

*Did not set a time within 107% of the fastest Q1 lap

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.