Hamilton takes control in final practice

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton set a commanding pace during the final practice session for this weekend’s Russian Grand Prix at the Sochi Autodrom.

Hamilton’s time of 1:38.726 was comfortably faster than his nearest rivals, although the Brit spun at the penultimate corner when he was on course to beat his own lap.

Hamilton thus missed the final few minutes of the session as he destroyed his tyres and at that moment he held an advantage of almost a second.

Nearest rivals Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas subsequently improved, with the German driver ending the session 0.29s down on Hamilton’s time.

Daniel Ricciardo was fourth for Red Bull, ahead of Felipe Massa and Daniil Kvyat.

Kimi Räikkönen beat Ferrari team-mate Fernando Alonso to seventh, while Jean-Éric Vergne and Sebastian Vettel rounded out the top 10.

Jenson Button was unable to replicate McLaren’s pace from Friday and ended up 11th, but team-mate Kevin Magnussen endured a troublesome time.

Magnussen was rounding the fast Turn three when his McLaren snapped sideways, with the Dane doing well to avoid hitting the barriers on the outside of the corner.

He limped round to turn five and the session was briefly halted to allow his car to be recovered.

Pastor Maldonado was unable to set a lap time due to an ERS problem in his Lotus E22. The Venezuelan heads into qualifying with a five place penalty after he was unable to serve his entire engine-related sanction in Japan.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:38.72615
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:39.0160.29025
377Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:39.0970.37120
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:39.7551.02916
519Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:39.9541.22822
626Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:40.0091.28327
77Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:40.0111.28520
814Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:40.1511.42515
925Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:40.2051.47926
101Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:40.3381.61221
1122Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:40.3551.62919
1227Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:40.6691.94323
1311Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:40.6991.97326
1499Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:41.1462.42021
1521Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:41.5202.79420
168Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:41.9153.18922
1720Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:42.4363.7104
189Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:43.1094.38311
1910Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:43.9755.24912
204Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:44.7376.0119
2113Pastor MaldonadoLotus-RenaultNo time2

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.