Hamilton sets pace in final practice

By on Saturday, June 7, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton set the fastest time during the final free practice session ahead of this weekend’s Canadian Grand Prix.

Hamilton set a time of 1:15.610 to beat Williams’s Felipe Massa by 0.476s, despite setting his quickest time on the prime tyre.

Championship leader Nico Rosberg was third quickest for Mercedes, ahead of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, who had a trip across the grass at turn four.

Daniel Ricciardo was fifth quickest, ahead of Kimi Räikkönen and Valtteri Bottas.

Daniil Kvyat, Jean-Éric Vergne and Sebastian Vettel completed the top 10.

Nico Hülkenberg finished just outside of the top 10, ahead of Kevin Magnussen, who suffered a spin at turn two and was fortunate to continue.

Romain Grosjean and Sergio Pérez both came to grief at turn nine on their way to 13th and 14th, ahead of Pastor Maldonado and Jenson Button.

Adrian Sutil was 17th, ahead of the Marussia duo of Jules Bianchi and Max Chilton.

Marcus Ericsson beat Kamui Kobayashi in the Caterham scrap but both drivers encountered problems. Ericsson spun under braking for turn nine while the Japanese racer stopped at turn 10 during the final few minutes of the session.

The session was red flagged briefly when Esteban Gutiérrez spun at turn four and damaged his Sauber C33. He ended the 60 minute session at the foot of the times.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:15.610
219Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:16.0860.476
36Nico RosbergMercedes1:16.1200.510
414Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:16.4880.878
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:16.5040.894
67Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:16.5280.918
777Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:16.6841.074
826Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:16.8201.210
925Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:16.8241.214
101Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:16.8841.274
1127Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:16.9441.334
1220Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:16.9931.383
138Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:17.1211.511
1411Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:17.1881.578
1513Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:17.2241.614
1622Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:17.3601.750
1799Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:17.9002.290
1817Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:18.5182.908
194Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:18.5252.915
209Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:19.8654.255
2110Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:20.2274.617
2221Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:22.3886.778

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.