Hamilton secures pole for Chinese GP

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton claimed his third successive pole position as he beat Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg during qualifying for the Chinese Grand Prix.

Hamilton posted an initial time of 1:35.782 in Q3 but was unable to improve on his second lap, allowing Rosberg a chance of snatching pole position.

Rosberg’s time, however, was insufficient to take top spot but he ended just 0.042s shy of Hamilton’s pole position.

Sebastian Vettel was third quickest for Ferrari - nine-tenths behind Hamilton - while Felipe Massa beat Williams team-mate Valtteri Bottas to fourth place.

Kimi Räikkönen had a scruffy lap as he went sixth, while Daniel Ricciardo was the fastest Renault-powered driver in seventh.

Romain Grosjean went eighth for Lotus, while both Sauber drivers made it through to Q3, with Felipe Nasr ahead of Marcus Ericsson.

Pastor Maldonado narrowly failed to make it through to Q3, as did Red Bull’s Daniil Kvyat, who had a messy session on his way to the 12th fastest time.

Max Verstappen couldn’t improve on his final lap as he locked up and placed 13th, but he managed to beat Toro Rosso team-mate Carlos Sainz Jr.

Sergio Pérez progressed through to the second knockout session but opted to post only one lap and finished 15th, seven-tenths behind Sainz Jr.

Nico Hülkenberg was unable to escape from Q1 and he was joined in the drop zone by McLaren pair Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso, who were separated by just four thousandths of a second.

Manor Marussia will line-up at the back of the grid, with Will Stevens ahead of Roberto Merhi.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:38.2851:36.4231:35.78212
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:38.4961:36.7471:35.82412
35Sebastian VettelFerrari1:37.5021:36.9571:36.68717
419Felipe MassaWilliams1:38.4331:37.3571:36.95415
577Valtteri BottasWilliams1:38.0141:37.7631:37.14315
67Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1:37.7901:37.1091:37.23217
73Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing1:38.5341:37.9391:37.54018
88Romain GrosjeanLotus1:38.2091:38.0631:37.90520
912Felipe NasrSauber1:38.5211:38.0171:38.06716
109Marcus EricssonSauber1:38.9411:38.1271:38.15815
1113Pastor MaldonadoLotus1:38.5631:38.13413
1226Daniil KvyatRed Bull Racing1:39.0511:38.20913
1333Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:38.3871:38.39314
1455Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:38.6221:38.53814
1511Sergio PerezForce India1:38.9031:39.29010
1627Nico HulkenbergForce India1:39.2166
1722Jenson ButtonMcLaren1:39.2766
1814Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:39.2808
1928Will StevensMarussia1:42.0916
2098Roberto MerhiMarussia1:42.8428

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.