Hamilton remains on top in final session

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton maintained his form by setting the quickest time during the final practice session at the Hungarian Grand Prix.

The Brit posted a time of 1:24.048 to end the 60 minute session 0.047s faster than Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg.

Rosberg's fastest time came on his third flying lap on options, having made a mistake on his first timed lap.

Reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel was third quickest, just over four-tenths of a second behind Hamilton.

Valtteri Bottas was fourth for Williams, ahead of Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo.

Fernando Alonso did not set a time during the first half of the session but immediately came out and went quickest on Primes, before Hamilton improved, and eventually ended sixth quickest after switching to Options.

Ferrari team-mate Kimi Raikkonen was close behind in seventh position, with Kevin Magnussen in eighth.

The Toro Rosso duo of Jean-Eric Vergne and Daniil Kvyat rounded out the top 10, while Felipe Massa and Jenson Button finished in 11th and 12th.

It was line astern towards the back of the field, with Pastor Maldonado leading Romain Grosjean in 13th, followed by the Sauber pairing of Adrian Sutil and Esteban Gutierrez and Force India duo Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez.

Kamui Kobayashi was 19th, ahead of Max Chilton and Marcus Ericsson. Jules Bianchi rounded out the runners after being unable to complete a timed lap on Options.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:24.04821
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:24.0950.04724
31Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:24.4550.40716
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:24.6780.63015
577Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:24.6850.63721
614Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:24.7690.72111
77Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:24.8180.77019
820Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:24.8670.81921
925Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:25.1621.11417
1026Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:25.1701.12219
1119Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:25.2311.18318
1222Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:25.4681.42014
1313Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:25.8291.78122
148Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:25.8591.81119
1599Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:25.9341.88621
1621Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:26.0231.97523
1727Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:26.0351.98719
1811Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:26.1422.09417
1910Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:27.5603.51223
204Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:28.0834.03517
219Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:28.6054.55722
2217Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:28.8214.77314

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.