Hamilton quickest, then crashes, as rain hits Montreal

By on Friday, June 5, 2015
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton continued to set the pace at Montreal as he posted the quickest lap time before crashing out when wet weather stuck the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Hamilton, who topped a dry first session, made amends after bouncing across the kerbs on his first flying lap to clock a time of 1:15.988 on the Option tyres during a busy opening to the session as teams fitted in running prior to the forecasted rain.

It duly arrived after 35 minutes but Hamilton – and Nico Rosberg – opted to return to the circuit on Intermediate tyres despite the torrential conditions.

Hamilton ran wide at Turn 8 before skating straight on when he tried to slow down for Turn 10, lightly tapping the barriers.

The session was then stopped due to the weather conditions but no one went out again when it restarted with half an hour remaining as rain continued to batter the circuit.

Sebastian Vettel set the second fastest time for Ferrari, three-tenths down on Hamilton and just 0.006s ahead of team-mate Kimi Räikkönen.

Nico Rosberg was fourth for Mercedes, within half a second of the time achieved by his team-mate.

Lotus’ encouraging pace from the opening session continued as Pastor Maldonado and Romain Grosjean were fifth and seventh, split by the Williams of Valtteri Bottas.

Felipe Massa placed eighth in the other Williams, while Red Bull pair Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo rounded out the top 10.

Nico Hülkenberg suffered a rim-related puncture early on in the session and placed 11th, ahead of Marcus Ericsson, Carlos Sainz Jr. and Sergio Pérez.

Fernando Alonso was 15th quickest for McLaren, while Max Verstappen, Felipe Nasr, Jenson Button, Roberto Merhi and Will Stevens completed the runners.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:15.98822
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:16.304+0.316s19
37Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:16.310+0.322s20
46Nico RosbergMercedes1:16.440+0.452s22
513Pastor MaldonadoLotus1:16.600+0.612s15
677Valtteri BottasWilliams1:16.849+0.861s18
78Romain GrosjeanLotus1:16.864+0.876s15
819Felipe MassaWilliams1:17.041+1.053s19
926Daniil KvyatRed Bull1:17.092+1.104s10
103Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:17.111+1.123s16
1127Nico HulkenbergForce India1:17.120+1.132s15
129Marcus EricssonSauber1:17.261+1.273s17
1355Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:17.318+1.330s23
1411Sergio PerezForce India1:17.367+1.379s20
1514Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:17.627+1.639s21
1633Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:17.657+1.669s23
1712Felipe NasrSauber1:17.751+1.763s21
1822Jenson ButtonMcLaren1:18.135+2.147s20
1998Roberto MerhiMarussia1:19.531+3.543s15
2028Will StevensMarussia1:19.734+3.746s13

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.