Hamilton fastest in second Singapore session

By on Friday, September 19, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton set the fastest time during the second practice session under the lights in Singapore.

Hamilton’s time of 1:47.490 was 0.133s clear of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso as the drivers completed their runs on the Super Soft tyre around the streets of Marina Bay.

Hamilton’s Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg was only 13th after having to abandon his flying lap when the session was halted due to a crash for Pastor Maldonado.

The Venezuelan went wide at turn 10 and as the back end of the car stepped out, he over-corrected and the front right side of the Lotus impacted the wall.

Daniel Ricciardo was third quickest for Red Bull, with Kimi Räikkönen in fourth in the Ferrari.

Sebastian Vettel only made it out on track with eight minutes of the session remaining after Red Bull had to change his engine following a failure at the end of first practice.

Vettel, with Option tyres fitted to his RB10, was nonetheless able to set the fifth quickest time.

Kevin Magnussen set the sixth fastest time before complaining of a problem in his McLaren, while team-mate Jenson Button was seventh.

Force India pairing Sergio Pérez and Nico Hülkenberg finished eighth and ninth, with Toro Rosso’s Daniel Kvyat rounding out the top 10.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:47.490
214Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:47.6230.133
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:47.7900.300
47Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:48.0310.541
51Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:48.0410.551
620Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:48.3580.868
722Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:48.4350.945
811Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:48.6531.163
927Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:48.7511.261
1026Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:48.7701.280
1125Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:48.8001.310
128Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:49.0621.572
136Nico RosbergMercedes1:49.0751.585
1413Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:49.1391.649
1599Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:49.1701.680
1621Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:49.2901.800
1719Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:49.3611.871
1877Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:49.9712.481
1917Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:50.6123.122
204Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:51.5584.068
2110Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:52.0754.585
229Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:52.9365.446

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.