Hamilton fastest in opening Montreal session

By on Friday, June 5, 2015
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Reigning World Champion Lewis Hamilton bounced back from his Monaco defeat by topping the times during the opening practice session for this weekend’s Canadian Grand Prix.

Hamilton moved to the front early on but spun at the hairpin while attempting to improve on his lap time.

He consequently returned to the circuit and lowered his own benchmark by a few tenths of a second to end the session with a 1:16.212.

Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg was 0.415s back in second position and copped a fine for speeding in the pit lane.

Lotus’ Romain Grosjean was a surprise third, albeit 1.5s down on pace setter Hamilton, while Nico Hülkenberg ensured that the top four was locked out by Mercedes-powered cars.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel was fifth quickest, ahead of Felipe Massa and Daniil Kvyat.

Pastor Maldonado, Fernando Alonso and Toro Rosso rookie Max Verstappen rounded out the top 10.

Valtteri Bottas was 11th fastest for Williams and suffered a spin at Turn 6, but finished ahead of compatriot Kimi Räikkönen and Force India’s Sergio Pérez.

2014 victor Daniel Ricciardo could manage only 14th position for Red Bull.

Jenson Button suffered from a few early problems but recovered to go 15th fastest, ahead of Felipe Nasr and Carlos Sainz Jr.

The Toro Rosso driver spun on turn-in for the first corner and later had to be recovered from the pit exit when his car stopped.

Marcus Ericsson finished a tenth down on Sainz Jr. in 18th position while Manor Marussia pair Roberto Merhi and Will Stevens completed the runners, with the team-mates separated by eight thousandths of a second.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:16.21234
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:16.627+0.415s38
38Romain GrosjeanLotus1:17.721+1.509s35
427Nico HulkenbergForce India1:17.871+1.659s34
55Sebastian VettelFerrari1:17.905+1.693s25
619Felipe MassaWilliams1:17.985+1.773s28
726Daniil KvyatRed Bull1:18.021+1.809s30
813Pastor MaldonadoLotus1:18.026+1.814s41
914Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:18.128+1.916s34
1033Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:18.257+2.045s24
1177Valtteri BottasWilliams1:18.325+2.113s40
127Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:18.439+2.227s26
1311Sergio PerezForce India1:18.503+2.291s28
143Daniel RicciardoRed Bull1:18.775+2.563s24
1522Jenson ButtonMcLaren1:18.786+2.574s25
1612Felipe NasrSauber1:18.948+2.736s30
1755Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:19.065+2.853s23
189Marcus EricssonSauber1:19.165+2.953s32
1998Roberto MerhiMarussia1:20.616+4.404s33
2028Will StevensMarussia1:20.624+4.412s27

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.