Hamilton edges Rosberg in first session

By on Friday, November 21, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton edged out Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg during the first practice session for this weekend’s season finale in Abu Dhabi.

Hamilton set a time of 1:43.476, 0.133s faster than title rival Rosberg, as Mercedes finished comfortably clear of its nearest rivals.

Fernando Alonso was third for Ferrari, 1.7s off the pace, with his 2015 replacement Sebastian Vettel close behind in fourth.

Less than a tenth of a second separated the Red Bull drivers as Daniel Ricciardo placed fifth, with Toro Rosso pair Jean-Éric Vergne and Daniil Kvyat in sixth and seventh.

Valtteri Bottas completed only eight laps early on in the session before a substantial piece of bodywork detached itself from his Williams FW36. Bottas returned to the pits but Williams had to repair the fixings on his car; he nonetheless finished eighth. Consequently, Felipe Massa only completed a handful of laps as the squad investigated the issue.

Force India rounded out the top 10, with Sergio Pérez finishing 0.044s ahead of team-mate Nico Hülkenberg.

Kevin Magnussen finished in 11th position, ahead of Kimi Räikkönen and the aforementioned Massa, Esteban Gutiérrez and Pastor Maldonado.

F3 Champion Esteban Ocon made his practice debut for Lotus and finished in 16th, while Jenson Button was 17th after a truncated session.

Caterham returned to track action with Kamui Kobayashi in 18th and Will Stevens rounding out the field after an early technical problem; they were split by Adderly Fong, who sampled the Sauber C33.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:43.47632
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:43.6090.13331
314Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:45.1841.70822
41Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:45.3341.85830
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:45.3611.88523
625Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:45.7182.24217
726Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:45.8352.35932
877Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:45.9132.4378
911Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:45.9832.50723
1027Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:46.0302.55424
1120Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:46.0492.57323
127Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:46.1312.65523
1319Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:46.5493.0737
1421Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:46.5563.08028
1513Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:46.7113.23531
1631Esteban OconLotus-Renault1:47.0663.59029
1722Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:47.2353.7598
1810Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:47.9714.49524
1937Adderly FongSauber-Ferrari1:48.2694.79325
2046Will StevensCaterham-Renault1:50.6847.20814

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.