Hamilton dominates Malaysian Grand Prix

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton claimed a dominant victory for Mercedes at the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Hamilton controlled proceedings throughout and was only briefly headed during the pit stop phase.

Nico Rosberg completed a Mercedes 1-2, while Sebastian Vettel finished in third place for Red Bull.

Hamilton led away at the start while Rosberg took advantage to move up to second, ahead of Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo. Rosberg was slow through turn three and while Vettel attempted to move in front of his compatriot, Ricciardo took advantage to usurp his world champion team-mate. Vettel used DRS to re-pass Ricciardo a couple of laps later.

Kimi Räikkönen started brightly but picked up a flat tyre on the second lap after making contact with Magnussen and had to tour back to the pits. Kevin Magnussen pitted for a new front wing and was also handed a five second penalty for his misdemeanour.

The first round of stops passed by without any major position changes. Alonso’s early stop allowed him to briefly jump Ricciardo but the Australian muscled his way back through into fourth place. Hamilton handed the lead to Hülkenberg during the pit stop phase but took just a few corners to reclaim top position without any problems.

The positions remained the same after the second set of stops although Ricciardo dropped further behind team-mate Vettel. However, when the Australian pitted for a third time he was released from his pit box without his right front wheel properly attached. Red Bull wheeled him back to the pit box but by the time Ricciardo was released, he was down to 14th place. However, within a lap his front wing failed and he had to return to the pits. His misfortune was further compounded when he was handed a 10 second stop/go penalty for the initial unsafe release. Ricciardo toured around for a few more laps before retiring.

Hülkenberg attempted to make a two stop strategy work but conceded fourth position to Alonso with a few laps remaining, after putting up a valiant fight.

Alonso finished the race in fourth while Hülkenberg took a fine fifth, ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button and the Williams pairing of Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas.

Magnussen recovered to ninth, while Daniil Kvyat took the final point.

Jean-Éric Vergne retired the Toro Rosso before mid-distance while Adrian Sutil pulled off circuit exiting the hairpin.

Contact between Pastor Maldonado and Jules Bianchi on the opening lap, for which the Frenchman was handed a five second stop and go penalty. Maldonado’s race lasted only a few laps further before he was forced to retire due to an engine issue, while Bianchi also stopped soon after.

Sergio Pérez was unable to take the start after his Force India encountered a software issue, a repeat of what plagued the Mexican in qualifying.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes56Winner125
26Nico RosbergMercedes56+17.3 secs318
31Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault56+24.5 secs215
414Fernando AlonsoFerrari56+35.9 secs412
527Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes56+47.1 secs710
622Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes56+83.6 secs108
719Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes56+85.0 secs136
877Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes56+85.5 secs184
920Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes55+1 Lap82
1026Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault55+1 Lap111
118Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault55+1 Lap15
127Kimi RäikkönenFerrari55+1 Lap6
1310Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault55+1 Lap20
149Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault54+2 Lap22
154Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari54+2 Lap21
Ret3Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault49+7 Lap5
Ret21Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari35+21 Laps12
Ret99Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari32+24 Laps17
Ret25Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault18+38 Laps9
Ret17Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari8+48 Laps19
Ret13Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault7+49 Laps16
Ret11Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes0+56 laps14

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.