Hamilton claims pole for Chinese Grand Prix

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton claimed pole position for the Chinese Grand Prix after setting the fastest time during the final segment of qualifying.

Hamilton beat Daniel Ricciardo by over half a second as wet weather affected the circuit in China.

World champion Sebastian Vettel was a second behind Hamilton in third, while Nico Rosberg was fourth after spinning on his final lap in Q3.

Fernando Alonso set the fifth fastest time, ahead of the Williams duo of Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas.

Nico Hülkenberg was eighth, with Jean-Éric Vergne and Romain Grosjean rounding out the top 10.

Several top drivers fell during the second segment.

Ferrari’s Kimi Räikkönen came close to being eliminated in Q1 but narrowly made it through, although he only set the 11th fastest time.

He was joined by fellow world champion Jenson Button in 12th, ahead of Daniil Kvyat and Adrian Sutil.

Rookie Kevin Magnussen was 15th, while Bahrain podium finisher Sergio Pérez was the slowest of the runners in Q2.

Esteban Gutiérrez was an early casualty as the Mexican driver was unable to improve on his final lap in Q1 after running wide at the final corner.

Kamui Kobayashi and Jules Bianchi also failed to make it through Q1 although both were considerably quicker than their respective team-mates, Marcus Ericsson and Max Chilton.

Pastor Maldonado will start from the back of the grid after power unit problems prevented his Lotus from leaving the garage.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:55.5161:54.0291:53.86021
23Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:56.6411:55.3021:54.45523
31Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:55.9261:54.4991:54.96023
46Nico RosbergMercedes1:56.0581:55.2941:55.14322
514Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:56.9611:55.7651:55.63721
619Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:56.8501:56.7571:56.14724
777Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:56.5011:56.2531:56.28224
827Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:55.9131:56.8471:56.36623
925Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:57.4771:56.5841:56.77323
108Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:58.4111:56.4071:57.07922
117Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:58.2791:56.86017
1222Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:57.7831:56.96317
1326Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:57.2611:57.28918
1499Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:58.1381:57.39317
1520Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:57.3691:57.67517
1611Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:58.3621:58.26417
1721Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:58.98810
1810Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:59.26010
1917Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:59.32610
209Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault2:00.64610
214Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari2:00.86510
2213Pastor MaldonadoLotus-RenaultNo time0

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.