Hamilton claims hat-trick in China

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014
Red Bull/Getty Images

Red Bull/Getty Images

Lewis Hamilton claimed the first hat-trick of his Formula 1 career as he dominated proceedings in China.

Hamilton was never troubled as he stormed to victory, his third in a row and third at the Shanghai International Circuit.

Nico Rosberg survived a poor start, a first lap collision and a loss of telemetry to claim second place, while Fernando Alonso took Ferrari's first podium of 2014 in third.

Daniel Ricciardo just missed out on a podium and settled for fourth, ahead of Red Bull team-mate Sebastian Vettel.

Nico Hulkenberg was sixth for Force India, ahead of Bottas and Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen.

Sergio Perez and Daniil Kvyat rounded out the top 10.

Neither McLaren driver scored a point as both Jenson Button and Kevin Magnussen struggled while Felipe Massa lost a minute at his first stop and dropped out of contention. The Brazilian had made a strong start but made contact at the first corner with Alonso and the resulting damage affected his tyre change.

Adrian Sutil was an early casualty after a mechanical problem halted his progress after a handful of laps, marking a third successive retirement for the Sauber driver.

Romain Grosjean raced in the lower reaches of the top 10 for the first half of the race but his Lotus E22 developed a problem with fourth gear. The French driver ran wide through the gravel before he was forced to retire.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes541:33:28.338125
26Nico RosbergMercedes54+18.0 secs418
314Fernando AlonsoFerrari54+23.6 secs515
43Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault54+27.1 secs212
51Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault54+47.8 secs310
627Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes54+54.3 secs88
777Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes54+55.7 secs76
87Kimi RäikkönenFerrari54+76.3 secs114
911Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes54+82.6 secs162
1026Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault53+1 Lap131
1122Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes53+1 Lap12
1225Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault53+1 Lap9
1320Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes53+1 Lap15
1413Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault53+1 Lap22
1519Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes53+1 Lap6
1621Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari53+1 Lap17
1717Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari53+1 Lap19
1810Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault53+1 Lap18
194Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari52+2 Laps21
209Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault52+2 Laps20
Ret8Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault28Gearbox10
Ret99Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari5Engine14

Note - Result declared at end of Lap 54/56, in accordance with Article 43.2 of sporting regulations (chequered flag was shown to leader at end of Lap 55)

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.