Hamilton beats Vettel to pole in Bahrain

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

World Champion Lewis Hamilton secured his fourth successive pole position as he swept to top spot during qualifying for the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Hamilton posted a time of 1:32.571 as he claimed his first pole position at the track, four-tenths of a second clear of Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, to continue his 100% record in qualifying this season.

Nico Rosberg was third fastest for Mercedes, ahead of Kimi Räikkönen, as neither driver was able to match the efforts of their respective team-mates.

Williams will line-up on the third row of the grid, with Valtteri Bottas in front of team-mate Felipe Massa.

Daniel Ricciardo claimed seventh place for Red Bull while Nico Hülkenberg made it through to Q3 in the Force India and ended in eighth.

Toro Rosso rookie Carlos Sainz Jr. and Lotus' Romain Grosjean rounded out the top 10.

Sergio Pérez narrowly missed out on making it two Force India cars in the top 10 as he placed 11th, while Felipe Nasr beat Sauber team-mate Felipe Nasr to 12th position.

Fernando Alonso became the first McLaren driver to make it out of Q1 this season and he ended in 14th place, ahead of Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen.

Pastor Maldonado fell at the first hurdle, with Lotus informing the Venezuelan that an engine problem was to blame for his lap time.

Daniil Kvyat’s difficult start to 2015 continued as he made a mistake at Turn 2 on his way to a lowly 17th for Red Bull, faster than only the Manor Marussia drivers, with Will Stevens once again outpacing team-mate Roberto Merhi.

McLaren’s Jenson Button will start from the back of the grid after he stopped on circuit for the third time this weekend and was unable to post a lap time.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:33.9281:32.6691:32.57116
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:34.9191:33.6231:32.98212
36Nico RosbergMercedes1:34.3981:33.8781:33.12916
47Kimi RaikkonenFerrari1:34.5681:33.5401:33.22715
577Valtteri BottasWilliams1:34.1611:33.8971:33.38116
619Felipe MassaWilliams1:34.4881:33.5511:33.74416
73Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing1:34.6911:34.4031:33.83215
827Nico HulkenbergForce India1:35.6531:34.6131:34.45015
955Carlos SainzToro Rosso1:35.3711:34.6411:34.46218
108Romain GrosjeanLotus1:35.0071:34.1231:34.48420
1111Sergio PerezForce India1:35.4511:34.70412
1212Felipe NasrSauber1:35.3101:34.7379
139Marcus EricssonSauber1:35.4381:35.0349
1414Fernando AlonsoMcLaren1:35.2051:35.03910
1533Max VerstappenToro Rosso1:35.6111:35.10314
1613Pastor MaldonadoLotus1:35.6777
1726Daniil KvyatRed Bull Racing1:35.8006
1828Will StevensMarussia1:38.7136
1998Roberto MerhiMarussia1:39.7226
22Jenson ButtonMcLarenNo time1

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.