Hamilton beats Rosberg to victory at Monza

By on Sunday, September 7, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton claimed victory at the Italian Grand Prix after a poor start as Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg twice ran wide and lost time.

Hamilton bogged down as the lights went out and slipped to fourth, but he passed Kevin Magnussen and Felipe Massa, before overtaking Rosberg when the German ran straight on at the Rettifilo chicane.

Rosberg recovered to second place, while Massa claimed his first podium of the year in third.

Hamilton made a slow start from pole position due to a technical glitch and immediately lost out to team-mate Rosberg, while a fast starting Magnussen rocketed up to second, with Massa jumping into third as Valtteri Bottas slipped down to 10th.

Rosberg stormed away up front while Massa and Hamilton both displaced Magnussen on lap five as they attempted to rein in the German driver.

Rosberg held a lead of around four seconds but that was halved when he locked up at Rettifilo and had to take to the run-off, while on the next lap Hamilton went around the outside of Massa at the same corner to take second place.

Hamilton began to close the gap to Rosberg as the race progressed, while Massa held a comfortable third, over 10 seconds clear of fourth-placed Magnussen.

Bottas started his recovery and gradually picked off rivals to move into fourth place, at the expense of Magnussen, on lap 21.

Sebastian Vettel stopped earlier than his rivals and was able to jump Magnussen, while an early stop for Pérez also allowed him to jump Fernando Alonso and Button.

Bottas pitted on lap 25 but while he came out in sixth, he slipped behind Vettel, Magnussen and Sergio Pérez.

The Mercedes duo pitted on consecutive laps – Rosberg first, followed by Hamilton – with Rosberg maintaining his advantage up front.

Hamilton started to slice into Rosberg’s advantage and on lap 29 the German again went wide at Rettifilo, handing the lead of the race to Hamilton, while behind them Alonso retired with an apparent engine failure and walked disconsolately away from his stricken Ferrari.

Hamilton extended his lead at the head of the field while further back, stewards investigated an incident between Magnussen and Bottas as they battled over fifth position, and while the Finn made the move on lap 37, stewards handed Magnussen a five second penalty for forcing his rival off track.

Once through, Bottas soon set about on Vettel and passed the reigning champion with ease, while further back Jenson Button and Pérez diced for position, with the Mexican gaining the upper hand despite cutting the chicane.

Daniel Ricciardo dropped to 13th at the start but clawed his way back into contention by stopping later and passing Kimi Räikkönen. He closed the gap to the battling Pérez and Button and passed the Brit, before gaining a spot on Pérez on the next lap. The Australian continued his charge by demoting Magnussen and began to hunt down team-mate Vettel.

Ricciardo made an attempt into Rettifilo but Vettel braked later and maintained the position. The Australian, however, consequently had a superior exit and sold Vettel a dummy to grab the inside line at the Roggia chicane and moved into fifth.

Up front Hamilton controlled his advantage to claim victory ahead of Rosberg and close the gap in the championship down to 22 points. Massa finished on the podium for the first time in his Williams career, while Bottas recovered to fourth, ahead of Ricciardo.

Vettel hung on to sixth, while Magnussen’s penalty demoted him 10th, elevating Pérez to seventh, Button eighth and Räikkönen ninth.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes531:19:10.236125
26Nico RosbergMercedes53+3.1 secs218
319Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes53+25.0 secs415
477Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes53+40.7 secs312
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault53+50.3 secs910
61Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault53+59.9 secs88
711Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes53+62.5 secs106
822Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes53+63.0 secs64
97Kimi RäikkönenFerrari53+63.5 secs112
1020Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes53+66.1 secs51
1126Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault53+71.1 secs21
1227Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes53+72.6 secs13
1325Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault53+73.0 secs12
1413Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault52+1 Lap16
1599Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari52+1 Lap14
168Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault52+1 Lap17
1710Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault52+1 Lap18
1817Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari52+1 Lap19
1921Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari51+2 Laps15
209Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault51+2 Laps22
Ret14Fernando AlonsoFerrari28Engine7
Ret4Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari5Accident20

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.