Hamilton beats Rosberg to Monza pole

By on Saturday, September 6, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Lewis Hamilton ended Nico Rosberg’s run of pole positions as he qualified on top spot for the Italian Grand Prix at Monza.

Hamilton was quickest in all three sessions and his time of 1:24.109 was over two-tenths of a second quicker than Mercedes team-mate Rosberg, as the German was beaten to pole for the first time since June’s Austrian Grand Prix.

It was also the first time Hamilton has beaten Rosberg in qualifying since the Spanish Grand Prix.

Williams will lock out the second row of the grid, with Valtteri Bottas in third and Felipe Massa fourth.

McLaren was another team to have its cars line astern, with Kevin Magnussen eclipsing team-mate Jenson Button for fifth position, while Fernando Alonso could muster only seventh for Ferrari’s home race.

Sebastian Vettel finished in eighth place, ahead of Red Bull team-mate Daniel Ricciardo and Force India’s Sergio Pérez.

Daniil Kvyat narrowly missed out on Q3 but will drop to 21st position due to a 10 place grid penalty for using a sixth Internal Combustion Engine this season.

The highest profile casualty of Q2 was Ferrari’s Kimi Räikkönen, who had a scruffy ending to his session and could managed only 12th position, ahead of Toro Rosso’s Jean-Éric Vergne.

Nico Hülkenberg complained of poor pace in the final sector and could manage only 14th while Adrian Sutil beat Esteban Gutiérrez to 15th place, aided by a mistake from the Mexican at the Ascari chicane.

Pastor Maldonado suffered a problem but escaping the first session was always an unlikely task for Lotus and he ended in 17th, ahead of Romain Grosjean, who was only able to participate in the final part of the session due to a fluid leak.

Kamui Kobayashi edged out Jules Bianchi to claim 19th position on the grid, while Max Chilton beat Marcus Ericsson at the back.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:25.3631:24.5601:24.10920
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:25.4931:24.6001:24.38319
377Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:26.0121:24.8581:24.69716
419Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:25.5281:25.0461:24.86517
520Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:26.3371:25.9731:25.31418
622Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:26.3281:25.6301:25.37918
714Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:26.5141:25.5251:25.43017
81Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:26.6311:25.7691:25.43618
93Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:26.7211:25.9461:25.70917
1011Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:26.5691:25.8631:25.94423
1126Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:26.2611:26.07016
127Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:26.6891:26.11013
1325Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:26.1401:26.15715
1427Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:26.3711:26.27918
1599Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:27.0341:26.58817
1621Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:26.9991:26.69217
1713Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:27.5208
188Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:27.6325
1910Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:27.6719
2017Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:27.7388
214Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:28.2478
229Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:28.5629

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.