Hamilton beats Rosberg in first practice

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014
Mercedes AMG Petronas

Mercedes AMG Petronas

Championship leader Lewis Hamilton edged out Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg during the first practice session ahead of this weekend’s Monaco Grand Prix.

Hamilton set a time of 1:18.271 to eclipse Rosberg by 0.032s, with Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo a quarter of a second behind in third place.

Fernando Alonso was fourth while reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel completed the top five.

Kimi Räikkönen finished the session in sixth place after surviving a spin at Sainte Devote, with compatriot Valtteri Bottas in seventh.

Sergio Pérez, Kevin Magnussen and Nico Hülkenberg completed the top 10.

Jenson Button was 11th in the McLaren, while Esteban Gutiérrez stopped on track during the final minute of the session after running straight on at Sainte Devote.

Romain Grosjean pipped Lotus team-mate Pastor Maldonado for 13th, ahead of Jean-Éric Vergne and Felipe Massa.

Sauber’s Adrian Sutil lost control of his C33 with 15 minutes remaining in the session and hit the wall, causing only minor damage to the car. He ended the session in 17th position.

Daniil Kvyat encountered a street circuit for the first time in his motor-racing career and he stayed out of trouble in 18th, ahead of Jules Bianchi, Marcus Ericsson and Kamui Kobayashi.

Max Chilton was an early casualty after spinning into Mirabeau and getting stuck in reverse gear.

144Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:18.27132
26Nico RosbergMercedes1:18.3030.03231
33Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:18.5060.23537
414Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:18.9300.65931
51Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:19.0430.77233
67Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:19.4671.19631
777Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:19.4941.22331
811Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:19.6661.39529
920Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes1:19.7891.51829
1027Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:19.8561.58538
1122Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:20.0331.76235
1221Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:20.1181.84733
138Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:20.2071.93633
1413Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:20.2411.97038
1525Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:20.2601.98936
1619Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:20.5172.24625
1799Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:20.7362.46518
1826Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:20.9142.64337
1917Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:21.3103.03927
209Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:22.0633.79240
2110Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:22.4924.22138
224Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:25.8177.5467

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.