FIA confirms provisional Austria grid

By on Saturday, June 20, 2015
Pirelli Media

Pirelli Media

The FIA has confirmed the provisional starting grid for Sunday's Austrian Grand Prix, following an array of penalties for both Red Bull and McLaren drivers.

The top seven remain unchanged, but Daniil Kvyat's penalty has promoted several drivers.

Felipe Nasr will start from eighth, ahead of Lotus pair Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado.

Marcus Ericsson will start from 11th position, followed by Carlos Sainz Jr., Sergio Perez and Kimi Raikkonen.

Despite having a 10 place sanction, Kvyat will start from 15th position - a demotion of seven spots from his qualifying result.

This is because Red Bull notified the FIA of his penalty before McLaren, meaning Kvyat drops to 18th before gaining three positions when the penalties for Daniel Ricciardo, Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button are applied.

Roberto Merhi and Will Stevens move up to 16th and 17th, while Ricciardo starts from 18th and will serve a five second time penalty.

He will do this as he was able to drop from 14th to 20th (before being elevated to 18th due to McLaren's penalties), serving only six of his 10 places.

Alonso and Button will round out the grid, with both having been slapped with 25 place grid penalties.

Alonso will serve a drive through penalty while Button has a 10 second stop and go, as five of Alonso's 25 places are for a gearbox change, which does not carry further sanctions.

If you liked this post then share it with your friends on social media websites. You can also follow us on Facebook and Twitter to stay up to date with the latest F1 news.